We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant good atmosphere & food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oceana Restaurant

Oceana Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Oceana Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #186 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th
Transit: Public transit stops; B,D,D,V: 47th-50th/Rockefeller Center; N,R,W: 49th Street 1: 50th Street
Description: Under the guidance of the Livanos family and Co-Owner Paul McLaughlin, Oceana has provided New Yorkers with an exceptional seafood destination since 1992. Oceana's a la carte menu, coupled with its convenient Midtown/Theater District location, make it a perfect spot for a quick business lunch or pre-theater dinner. From the spectacular marble bar to the fresh lobsters and whole fish cooked to order, as well as a significant selection of prime meats, the team delivers a fresh, innovative and approachable menu. Oceana has a 70 seat Cafe with a 18 seat marble bar. Great for lunch, after work cocktails & snacks, pre-theater dinner and post-theater desserts. An award winning international wine list with some 800 selections. Spring and Summer bring a 75 seat outdoor dining area, private dining options include our Chef's table for 4-5 to our Grand Salon for 80.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant good atmosphere & food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Food choice is good, not all just seafood, they bring a complimentary mini starter. Good wine list, cocktails etc. Service good, staff attentive & take some interest in you. Decor modern & good mix of people. Not too expensive. Seemed to have a nice bar area also which was busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraEdHolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    281
    96
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Mediocre in a city of great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I’ve been wanting to try Oceana for quite a while and recently had the opportunity. The room is welcoming and the staff is efficient. I was quite disappointed with the food though. I ordered a lobster roll thinking it would be luscious chunks of lobster in a buttery brioche – it wasn’t. It was a flat sandwich with a tiny bit of chopped lobster meat. It looked like it came from a can and served on a plane. When I think of all the places in NY that have wonderful lobster rolls and the amount it cost – it was very disappointing. It had very little flavor – extra lemon and salt helped but there was really no meat on the bun. It was in total a tablespoon of minced lobster. While it was not fishy or bad – it was just a big nothing. I also had a salad that seemed like it was prepared in advance and sat – not crisp or fresh. I am in no rush to return. The iced tea was good but would have been better if they brought sweetner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RR22RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautifuly Restaurant, excellent seafood.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently had dinner at Oceana on the recommendation of the Hilton Hotel nearby. It is a large, but well decorated venue. The seafood we had (tableside scallops), was very good, but somewhat pricy. On the negative side, the noise in the bar area carried over to the dinning room and could be distractive. Also, the service was somewhat lacking in attentiveness. But overall, I can recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcdjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sint maarten
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great paella but…….”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were looking for a good seafood restaurant on our trip to NYC and someone recommended here. The staff were very friendly and attentive, we had the seafood paella which was very delicious, only drawback was that they skimp on the seafood but otherwise was great, would definitely return on our next trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank platinumbabe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
418 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Terrific high end seafood, even have killer burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Have been 20+ times and always delivers. Large, well designed space. Great bar as well given it is hard to find such a large bar area in midtown. Great for business lunch, salmon burger, fish and chips, even regular burger all satisfy. Expensive, but worthy. Very professional if non-descript service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Oceana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing