We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, noisy, cheerful - one of our favorite places to eat @ Lincoln square”
Review of Cafe Fiorello

Cafe Fiorello
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Fiorello is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #340 of 13,681 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Between 63rd and 64th Streets
Transit: A, C, E, B, D & 1 trains t
Holmdel, NJ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Busy, noisy, cheerful - one of our favorite places to eat @ Lincoln square”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Always busy, noisy, cheerful, cafe "Fiorelo" have been our dining spot for many years.

Some people say the establishment did deviate from "classic Italian cousin" but I think it's a matter of personal preferences and tastes.

I love Fiorello's mix n match hot/cold grill bar - all type of veggies grilled gently and tossed with olive oil, seafood salads, mix beans and greens.
Be advised that main course dishes are pretty large even by NYC standards (= do not over-order).

Veal milaniese, grilled branzino, pasta, pizza with set or "pick your own toppings"... - pick your treat.

Leave room for deserts, also huge.
No room for a cake? Get a shot of fragrant Limonccello or strong espresso and off you go!

Nice outdoor seating even for colder months (they have heaters).

Not cheap, min $25 per person charge, reservations are strongly suggested for pre-show time (5-7:30pm), especially if you have party of 4 and more.

Tip: I you do not have reservation - ask to be seated at the bar. Not much elbow room but you can chat with barmen and get your food faster.

P.S. Ah, Fiorello's sorbets!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vesnaileto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    368
    124
    52
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pre-Opera Favorite”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Cafe Fiorello is our very favorite spot before or after an opera. The location is great, easy to get reservations and you will probably want to skip the show and stay to finish your food. We have a positive experience every time we dine there. The fresh mozzarella is to die for and the cocktals are generous. i love the atmosphere on a Saturday night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qutypy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Food-Fun Place- Great Location”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is at least our fourth trip to Cafe Fiorello. Maybe considered a little pricey...but the strong points off set the cost: the food is always excellent, the service great and the location fantastic if you're going to a performance at LC!
Don't miss the free chocolate treats when you leave.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank whoopsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Service, great food, great ambience, with a killer lemon tart dessert to boot!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I stopped in before 5:30 on a Friday evening and were quickly seated. We decided on the anti pasta choices, each of us choosing different from the other. All the vegetable and seafood dishes were delicious and satisfied our appetite perfectly. The lemon tart was ordered for dessert and although on the pricey side, was beyond supreme and worth every cent. It has a lovely creme brûlée toping that is divine.
Our server was helpful and efficient. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating.
The seating near the bar area is tight but it is New York so we would expect that. By the time we left the restaurant, it was full with people waiting.
We were very pleased with our dining experience and will return and recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geardots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cross This One Off The List”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Cafe Fiorello is convenient to Lincoln Center. That's about the only positive thing I can say about this overpriced restaurant. The atmosphere was hectic, noisy, and crowded. (Why it was crowded, I don't know.) Tables were small and placed inches apart. The service was erratic. (Our waiter actually came to ask if we were ready to order just as I spilled a cocktail all over the table and myself. He hadn't noticed that both the table and my clothes were dripping.) The lights in the restaurant kept flickering, adding to the chaotic atmosphere. (We were told there was a problem with the dimmer.)

But the main issue was the food itself. The bread selection was good. However, when we asked for olive oil, the waiter inundated our bread plates with oil and took the bottle away. What a mess! Our appetizer of fried shrimp and calamari was simply awful. The small portion consisted of a few small, mushy shrimp that had clearly been rescued from the seafood bar and a few pieces of calamari. Also included were fried rings of pickled hot peppers, adding a bizarre note to the dish and overwhelming the tasteless seafood. Ugh! The two pasta dishes were presented rather in-artistically. The ground meat in the Bolognese sauce comprised large globs of what appeared to be hamburger. The flavor was rather of a meat sauce with no hint of mirepoix. The all'amatriciana was too spicy, lacked pancetta, and had a few thin slivers of congealed cheese on top. No, we did not tell the waiter the food was unacceptable. There seemed to be no point and we did not have the time. How I miss the days of Cafe des Artistes and Andiamo! I will certainly not be going back to Cafe Fiorello, no matter how convenient. There are much better options, even the lowly Josephina or the tiny but delicious Boite en Bois.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OMSLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fiorello also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Fiorello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing