We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome taste and value !!!!”
Review of Haandi Restaurant

Haandi Restaurant
Ranked #5,391 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Manhattan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome taste and value !!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Where else in NYC can you get a huge platter of food with two meat dishes, one veggie dish, flavored rice, bread, and salad for $8. I don't understand the other reviews. The value of the meal by itself is enough to give in 4/5 stars....the taste makes it 5/5.

Not for the weak of stomach as no watered down food here !!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inro41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Go for the Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This place was recommended by a taxi driver- he actually took us there some 7 years ago! We have been going there at least once a year. We were there just yesterday and realized that I never wrote a review on this fairly crowed restaurant on Lexinton Ave and 28th street in NYC. The food is very good and the price is cheap. Just go there for the food - you'll love it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“One Bone Lamb Stew”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Looking for Halal in NYC. Avoid this joint. Yes, the prices are extraordinary, but they serve less than you give your loving canine friend. Lamb stew was a large ladle of brown water with a single bone floating in it..Microwaved rice was tasty,tandoori chicken dry and tasteless. Halal is served with opulence all around NYC now. Anywhere but here.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Estrumagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for Indian/Pakistani food -- and best deal in town”
Reviewed January 3, 2010

I eat lunch here a couple times a week. Go downstairs for the buffet. You can eat as much as you want for ten dollars. There's a big selection of meat and veggy dishes, good naan, salad and rice. The place attracts a pretty diverse clientele - lots of taxi drivers but also people who work in the neighborhood. The owner is a nice guy too although he is usually upstairs.

Helpful?
Thank CAinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trip_too_far
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Indian food ever”
Reviewed December 17, 2008

Best meal we had in New York City and $14 for two people! There was so much that we didn't finish it all.

We had sheik kebabs, and the meat platter. The platter was $7.99 and included two meat dishes one one veg dish (which the customer chooses from those on display), rice, a tandoori naan, salad and raita. Best value meal I've ever had any where. It was also the best Asian meal I've ever had in a restaurant and I've been to India and Pakistan!

The lady serving us was very nice. The decor isn't great but we saw a couple come in and a party of friends. But perhaps not the the place to take someone you want to impress - ie/first date. Shame as the food is fit to serve in a palace.

All the cutlery and plates are plastic and there are free jugs of cold tap water at the side of the main counter you can help yourself to.

This place should not be so low in the NYC restaurant rankings.

Helpful?
Thank trip_too_far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Haandi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing