We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb restaurant with friendly atmosphere”
Review of Abigael's

Abigael's
Ranked #1,921 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Abigael's on Broadway is a casually elegant, two level restaurant graciously accommodating up to three hundred and fifty guests. The menu offers an array of globally eclectic American fare, Latin comfort foods and Sushi & Pan Asian specialties that are surprisingly, deliciously Kosher.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb restaurant with friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Simply excellent steaks, burgers, and beyond. Excellent service with a smile. Great choices also for non-steak lovers. Moreover, in contrast to some other Manhattan (kosher) steakhouses the atmosphere is laid back and friendly and free of attitude.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffnjc, Owner at Abigael's, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you! You have described us as exactly what we aim to be. We're happy you had such a good experience with us, and we appreciate that you took the time to share your terrific opinion of Abigael's. Hopefully you're already a part of our Rewards Program... otherwise be sure to sign up at your next visit.





Wishing you a happy and healthy new year!





Alison P. Nathan
Abigael's on Broadway
Guest Services & Promotions Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    51
    16
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably the best burger I have ever had.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I were in NYC on Tuesday and stopped in Abigael's. We each had a steakburger. We agree that it was one of the better food items that we have ever consumed! It was delicious, cooked perfectly, and very juicy. As close to perfection as I can imagine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheldon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffnjc, Owner at Abigael's, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks so much for dining with us! We're delighted that you enjoyed the burgers. It is our own blend of three varied cuts of meat and we've gotten some terrific comments about them since we began using this recipe. We appreciate you taking the time to share your delicious experience. Thank you!





Alison P. Nathan
Abigael's on Broadway
Guest Services & Promotions Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, nice atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I went with my wife for dinner.

No wait.The staff were happy to explain the menu choices. They let us know how long it would be for the entrees to be ready. My wife did not lot her choice and they took it back and made sure she got something else instead.

It was also relatively quiet for NYC Kosher restaurant and not crowded at all.

The Food was good not great. Soup was a little too salty and the steak was good but not as lean as they said it would be. The chicken as I said before my wife did not like but the grilled chicken salad she got as a replacement was fine.

Overall, I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or to impress a date.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhorvvitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffnjc, Owner at Abigael's, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks for visiting us and taking the time to share your experience. We're happy your wife had something she enjoyed, despite her initial selection. Our menu notes which steaks are of a fattier cut, and the leaner ones sometimes aren't as lean as some guests would like.



As the largest Kosher Restaurant in NYC, we usually have plenty of room for our guests, and we're glad you enjoyed the full attention of your server.



Thanks for recommending us to all our readers!





Alison P. Nathan
Abigael's on Broadway
Guest Services & Promotions Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Over priced and average fair”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

First we went to the basement which is more like a family restaurant and it smelled of oil. We went back upstairs and its focus is pan Asian. I ordered the house burger fries where great burger was cooked right but dry. My wife had the sea bass and it was good not outstanding. There are better kosher restaurants in NYC

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff N, Owner at Abigael's, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
How disappointing that you didn't enjoy your recent visit with us! We usually get some pretty good comments about our food, service and recently redecorated lower level. The burger is our house blend of rib eye, chuck and prime rib. Most guests really enjoy this special recipe. I hope that in the future you'll have an occasion to visit us again and enjoy the fine food & service that we're known for.





Alison P. Nathan
Abigael's on Broadway
Guest Services & Promotions Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Late night seating”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived around 9:50 and were seated immediately. We were told that the kitchen was closing and had to order soon. Our server was Matt and he was very polite and took the time to explain the menu even though they were closing. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. The dining room was a little loud because of a family with a birthday but understandable. We'll definitely stop by hopefully at an earlier time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank issgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff N, Owner at Abigael's, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the recent dining experience you had with us. We're delighted to know that you enjoyed it, and did not feel rushed, despite the late hour. Matt is one of our nicest & most professional waiters, so it's no surprise to read that he treated you well! We'll look forward to having you back again soon... and be sure to sign up for our rewards & birthday programs!





Alison P. Nathan
Abigael's on Broadway
Guest Services & Promotions Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abigael's also viewed

 

Been to Abigael's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing