We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Japanese in NYC!”
Review of Hakubai

Hakubai
Ranked #1,870 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $190
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 38th
Transit: 4,5,6,7,S at Grand Central - 42nd St.
Description: Executive Chef Yukihiro Sato offers his guests a unique opportunity to share in the celebrated culinary tradition known as Kaiseki cuisine. Chef Sato's interpretation of the authentic Japanese cuisine focuses on incorporating the best seasonal ingredients to create unique fare that is pleasing to the eye and palate.
New York City, New York
1 review
“The best Japanese in NYC!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It is the most authentic Japanese food in town. The best noodles especially Nabeyaki! It is just like in Japan! Wonderful staff. My favorite are sesame tofu and egg custard!

This place used to be an affiliated with Nadaman, which is one of the most exclusive restaurant chains in Japan. For example, Nadaman is at the basement of the Imperial Hotel in Tokyo. Although Hakubai dropped the name Nadaman, the food quality stays the same. It is pretty remarkable that you can experience this without going to Japan from the super polite Kimono dressed servers to the authentic Japanese. I only wish they open on Sundays!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Japanese in NYC”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

It is the most authentic Japanese food in town. The best noodles especially nabeyaki!
It is just like in Japan! Wonderful staff. My favorite are sesame tofu and egg custard!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb food and experience”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The best Japanese restaurant I have eaten at. Very traditional food and service. Excellent array of flavors. Superb service. This is a meal to experience and savor.

Helpful?
Thank Virga017
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“I felt like I was back in Tokyo”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently visited NYC for business and stayed at the Kitano hotel. This restaurant is in the basement of the hotel and is well worth the visit.
The atmosphere will transport you back to Japan with its simply cedar and yellow pine wood accents and paper walls.
Service was excellent and undertsated.
But the food is the show here.
Sushi was the best I've had since I was in Tokyo. Clean, firm, perfectly presented.
Japanese pickles were perfectly cured, not too salty and full of flavor.
One of us had the Nabe Udon and I had a sip of the brothand will definitely order that next time I go here.
Even better, the prices for such service and quality food was reasonable, especially for NYC where I've had lesser meals for a lot more money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fishonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great taste of Japan!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on a suggestion that was made to my significant other. I have to say that this is probably the most authentic japanese food I've ever eaten. We had an assortment of sushi and tempura with a really good tofu appetizer. I think the management put a lot of effort in trying to create a truly japanese experience. All the waiting staff wore kimonos, and the decoration was typically japanese. The only real downside about this restaurant is that it is a bit pricey for what you get, but it is still worth trying.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gagnon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakubai also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hakubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing