We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant”
Review of Barbes Restaurant

Barbes Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbes Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,663 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Marsal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Elegant”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This restaurant has a Maghreb touch for the decoration and for the menu (Barbès refers to a certain boulevard in Paris popular with North Africans). There is a very quaint and elegant ambiance. The staff is very friendly.
I'm very much familiar with this type of cuisine because of my years of experience as expat in the area. The mushroom soup, the Tagines and the Coucous Royal were ok, but not more than that.
I wouldn’t go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank INSEARCHOF65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    59
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY,NY
Level Contributor
156 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Moroccan Food and awesome service”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We made a last minute reservation for 10 people on a Friday nite and Barbes accomodated us graciously and in a timely matter. The restaurant is not that big but we were seated at a great table and enjoyed the fun atmosphere & vibe. The menu from appetizers to desserts are outstanding. The briouat appetizer was one of our favorites. All the tangine platters were outstanding as well from the meats to the fish. It is a great place for groups and has great decor. The service was excellent! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank michygal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey, Usa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

fabulous small find while just walking around. Good wine list. great menu varied and different. friendly staff

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful expecience”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Located on a relativey quiet street in Mid Town Manhattan, Barbes is great place for Meditterrean fare. The place is clean and cozy, the staff friendly and helpful. We were first time visitors to NYC and found this place just a few blocks from our hotel. We have two different cous-cous dishes, one with chicken and the other with lamb meat balls. They both were tasty and satisfying, most everything on the menu looked really good. We will go back on our next trip to the city.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OTSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Level Contributor
156 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Mediterranean at its best”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A bunch of friends and I decided on a last minute dinner get together and Barbes was very accommodating at finding a table for all nine of us at the last minute. The restaurant is small but cozy. The decor is very Mediterranean/ Middle eastern. The service is EXCELLENT. The wait staff was extremely attentive as well as helpful at deciding on main course, wine selections and appetizers. So let me tell you what we ordered: smoke salmon with arugula, grilled calamari, briouats (pastry rolls w/ chicken and almonds- amazing!) , zaalouk ( eggplant) -delicious. whole artichoke - these were our appetizer choices. For dinner - I recommend : CREVETTES AU PISTOU,STEAK AU POIVRE,TAGINE DE POISSON ,COUSCOUS ROYALE and KEFTA TAGINE ( didnt love the lamb meatballs but they were good)
For dessert - a MUST - PASTILLA AU LAIT - light pastry which was so delicious that we devoured two in less than a minute!
Great for groups as well as a romantic date for couples. Nice ambiance.
Will definitely go back again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michygal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbes Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Barbes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing