We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner @Pongal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pongal

Pongal
Ranked #1,857 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Description: Indian Vegetarian and Certified Kosher Restaurant that has been around for 16+ years in NYC and reviewed by New York Times.We have been providing delicious South Indian Vegetarian food to so many customers that have always come back to eat and referred us to their family and friends several times over.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner @Pongal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Had dinner at Pongal with some friends, and it was a good experience. The place was clean, service good, food fairly prompt and tasty.
Our group ended up chatting there for long after we finished our meal ( and we didnt realise that!), but they didn't rush us out at all.
The price is standard across most indian restaurants in that area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nands_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    56
    20
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My favorite Indian restaurant in NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

All vegetarian, but it was 'still' great! ;)

Have eaten here numerous times now and never once have I been disappointed. If you like Indian food, try it!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A usual eating spot when I'm in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Consistent good reasonably priced vegetarian Indian. Clean, great service, nice variety. Exceptional dosas, esp one with potato. Everything I have ever had is good & usually try different things each time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank flgirl34709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Good South Indian food with good service at a very reasonable price. We had paper masala dosa, Rava dosa & Madu Vada. South Indian coffee dispensed in typical style was really tasty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Food bad.. service okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

we had a south indian thali here.. the food didn't taste authentic and the quantity of food was not justified .. for the cost you pay.. will not recommend it for south indian veg food

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aparna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pongal also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pongal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing