We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, value and location”
Review of Cafe Centro

Cafe Centro
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Centro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,637 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 45th Street & Vanderbilt Ave.
Transit: Subway to Grand Central station.
Description: Cafe Centro is a brasserie-style French restaurant serving breakfast, lunch & dinner near Grand Central in Midtown NYC.
Duxbury, MA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food, value and location”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I come here whenever I am in midtown for the excellent value prix fixe menu and service. Decent wine selection by glass. Regular menu also good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mama-Kz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    80
    34
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“family night out”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Came into the city at the last minute with the children and friends. Always enjoy Cafe Centro for business lunches and decided to stop by to see if they had a table. The greeting was very friendly and they set up a table for six right away. The waiter was wonderful -- friendly, attentive, helpful. Helped us choose some things for a group -- the grande fish platter was perfect, tasty, and fresh. Lobster soup was a tad salty, but very flavorful. Dinners included lamb tagine, filet mignon for two, sea bass all very good and hot upon arrival. We skipped dessert to get outside for Christmas walkabout, but were surprised by the cherry cotton candy brought to the table. The kids loved it. I was really taken by how warm and friendly the place was for our family and by the excellent dinner that everyone enjoyed. Thank you for making our Christmas evening in town so much fun.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
241 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Extremely Good Service, but Nosy......”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

There were 30 in our group celebrating a successful Board Meeting, but seated in the area just next to the crowded bar. It was busy, very nosy and hard to carry on a conversation.
The Sole was fantastic ! You must try it !!
Our two waiters were extremely attentive and did a fantastic job.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shitzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT FOR LUNCH”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food here continues to be a gastronomical delight. Nestled where it is in the MetLife Building one wouldn't perhaps expect such culinary wonders. For the price this is a cool inexpensive trip to Paris.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MAP1VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, New York
Level Contributor
266 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Problem solved!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have written about this place before. We really like it, but, at a recent dinner a glass of red wine was spilled on my wife's brand new jacket, ruining it. Due to mishandling by their management nothing was done until Peter Wyss, their VP of Operations intervened. Mr. Wyss was very apologetic and bemoaned the fact that it had not been handled quickly; he replaced the jacket and treated us to dinner for three at a sister restaurant, La Fonda del Sol, nearby. This is a good place and we are more than pleased by the food, ambiance and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Centro also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing