We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere that enhances the cuisine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hangawi

Hangawi
Ranked #281 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Hermosa Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Atmosphere that enhances the cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

For total dining experience, check this place out. Korean cuisine at its best! Who does ot love taking off their shoes and sitting on the floor and having delicious cocktails with a group of great friends? Could also be a romantic outing with an exotic edge. Delicious food, extremely friendly staff, very accommodating. Decorated very cozy, inviting your to linger, chat, laugh and soak in full dining experience,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    140
    32
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Vegan Asian Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you are open to new experiences and you love Asian cuisine, don't miss out on Hangawi. At this small, intimate restaurant you'll leave your shoes at the door and will be seated on the floor (with cut-out beneath the table for your legs). The room is very atmospheric with wood paneling and subdued candle light. Though strictly vegan, there is a large menu to select from; I highly recommend the prix fixe menu for beautifully presented sampling of many dishes. Everything we had, including the specialty drinks, was delicious. But more than the food, you will have enjoyed a uniquely serene dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TripChicNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food; must be spry; what's the rush?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm a vegetarian and a native New Yorker. Imagine my surprise when my husband found Hangawi for my birthday dinner...a place I've never been. I read the terrific reviews and was very excited. The place is pretty but cramped. If I were in the mood, I could have become best friends with the couple on my right. If you're not spry, you won't be able to climb up and over other people to get to your table, sit yourself down and slither your legs into the pit where your feet go. We're long legged...it wasn't pretty. Once you're settled in, it's like sitting at a table so one has to wonder - are the acrobatics worth it when you're just sitting like you would at a table? I love sitting on the floor at Japanese restaurants - I assume that was the intention.

In any case, the food was great. We started by sharing the combination pancake appetizer. Leek, kimchi mushroom & kabocha pumpkin with mung beans - excellent! I had the vegetarian stone bowl and especially loved how the rice at the bottom of the hot bowl gets crispy.

Here's the problem. It's not cheap, but the food came out SO quickly, the plates were zipped away so fast, that I really did feel rushed. Not so nice for a highly rated, fairly expensive restaurant. No savor factor at all. Plus we were seated near the front door where the line and the crowd were growing and the space is tight. Overall, it lead to a feeling of claustrophobia and needing to rush.

My daughter tells me I need to go back for the tea ceremony. I'm thinking about it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a vegetarian.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Great place for Korean vegetarian food. One of the few places where carnivores will envy the vegetarians. Lovely ambience and great food. Will definitely visit again

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Varij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious all vegetarian Korean Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a beautiful vegetarian dinner with my wife and another couple. Excellent service and even better food. And that says sometjong coming from a meat lover. A definite suggestion for people who enjoy good and wholesome food.

Helpful?
Thank LionelMartina
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Hangawi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hangawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing