We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent GF Italian, Friendly Host and Wait Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistango Restaurant

Bistango Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistango Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #388 of 13,489 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent GF Italian, Friendly Host and Wait Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband has Celiac and this restaurant offered excellent Gluten Free choices. He was very comfortable with the staff's obvious training and knowledge about the issues of cross-contamination. They even have home made GF bread. Small intimate environment. We ate dinner one night - two different ravioli dishes - both excellent and a delicious beet salad. We returned for brunch on Sunday - soup, salad and pizza. Also excellent. There was a large LOUD birthday party in full swing which made for a noisy environment, but otherwise, staff and food were as good as our dinner 2 nights before.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Details_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    97
    25
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I recently ate at Bistango during a trip to New York. The food and service were great. They have a limited, but good wine list. The list of wines were reasonably priced. My wife and I shared the Burrata Mozzarella which was very good. My wife had the gluten-free mushroom ravioli and I had the Mezzi Rigatoni Alla Ragu (short rigatoni with short-rib bolognese). Both were outstanding. We also shared the Fondette Di Cioccolato E Caramel (warm lava chocolate tart, salted caramel) for dessert. We also had "sparkling water" and not tap water, and I had cappuccino with the dessert. Including the wine, I bill came to just over $100.00. There seemed to be a large number of locals in the restaurant. Good meal and good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank houston1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Gluten Free pizza in New York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Great gluten free pizette (small thicker pizza), buzzy restaurant which was full of local families and groups rather than tourists. Really central, really chilled, they even have home made GF bread.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CeliacFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackthorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Gluten Free Choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Friendly service, gluten free bread was fantastic, most meals were available gluten free so a great choice. Only down side was lots of tables in a little space so very cramped but it is New York so to be expected.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TasmanianRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Gluten free restaurant"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Al thought, I'm not allergic to gluten I have friends who are and this restaurant is just the perfect choice! They have delicious gluten free dishes as well as regular Italian. It's not the cheapest but the value of the food is great! They are in y neighboorhood, so it's my option for Italian food!

Helpful?
Thank Tica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistango Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bistango Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing