We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOOD PRICED RIGHT”
Review of Hillstone

Hillstone
Ranked #185 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Valhalla, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD PRICED RIGHT”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

A visit with two friends resulted in a fine dining evening.

Welcomed at the spacious comfortable non-chaotic bar area drinks were quietly enjoyed - we were then seated.

Appetizers enjoyed from a limited menu included Chicago-Style Spinach Dip with hand-cut chips and Guacamole with salsa fresca. Both were enough and enjoyed by the three of us. The chips were fresh and quickly replenished when needed.

Mains included the Sea Bass Special served over an almond style rice. The flavorful dish worked but the hit of the evening was the Campfire Barbecue Pork Ribs which both friends ordered and agreed was one of the best Rib dishes they had in quite some time.

Service for the most part worked well all evening.

Hillstone caters more to families than other restaurants as the food is good with prices a bit lower when compared to other dining establishments in this high priced area.

A good time was had by all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    167
    33
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A dining must do!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a quiet, dark and romantic restaurant that offers some of the most delectable food I have ever tasted. Their prime rib will forever change the way you think about food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank beckamoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best veggie burger ever”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I have to travel to NYC to get the best veggie burger ever - although the one at Nicols deli in Leeds UK is close. Keep them on the menu!

Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“French dip sandwich- eat that and nothing else”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our American friends who live in NYC took us here for a Sunday lunch. The French dip sandwich is outstanding and the best meat sandwich i've ever had. All four of us ordered the same thing and loved it. String fries and coleslaw awesome too! Service was great and waitresses very polite as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank selenfobian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, food too salty”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I came here for lunch after we were tiered out from walking a lot. We felt like having a corporate type atmosphere for lunch and it is very nice and relaxing inside. We both ordered salads - sesame tuna for him, and roasted chicken/kale/peanut sauce for me. Both salads were very nicely presented and would have been wonderful if they had not been so salty. The chicken/kale was so salty that I had to drink a lot of water during the meal and pretty much all day. In retrospect, I should have sent it back, but it was a subjective thing - not incorrect per se, but simply the chef's idea of flavor, I guess.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hillstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing