We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillstone

Hillstone
Ranked #200 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Can't really think of anything bad about this restaurant. Three of us ordered steaks and we all loved them. I had the prime rib, which was cooked exactly as ordered and served hot and juicy. The baked potato side was served piping hot and nicely stuffed with sour cream, bacon bits and other tasty morsels. We all shared a very generous portion of key lime pie, served with a big dollop of whipped cream. The waitress was a delightful young lady with a cute giggle. She was attentive and efficient. Some reviewers have said the menu was limited, but I didn't find that so. There was plenty to choose from, more than enough to find something you liked. I would definitely recommend this place. Loses one star because veggies didn't come with meal...only potato.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mayortony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    157
    31
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not Happy”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I've been coming here for years and it has always been one of my favorite restaurants. I always looked forward to the ribs. This time was a let down. The service wasn't what Ive always thought was very good, the prices have gone up, and the ribs my wife and I had, were drowning in bar b q sauce. To complete my night, we found a hair sitting on the ice cream dessert when it was served. They did apologize and of course didn't charge for the dessert, but I was really disappointed in this meal for my birthday. The restaurant was packed as always, and this was just one of those off days that can happen anywhere, I guess.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 388bag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I had not been here in a while and was looking forward to going for lunch today. Menu seemed more limited than I recall with few options for vegetarians/pescatarians. I went with the veggie burger. It was not served hot, had little taste and was drowning in sauce, making the whole thing soggy. I do not mind spending money on a good meal, but this place is out of line with their prices. Unfortunately, I believe there has been a decline in the quality of the food. Service was good -- friendly, attentive and prompt.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarishaNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious hamburgers and very nice place!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

It was my first time to a Hillstone and I enjoyed it a lot. Very good burguers and a nice atmosphere.
The staff was reaaly friendly and helpful. The prices were also good. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcela U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful atmosphere”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Beautiful atmosphere. So crowded. High quality and prices. Service is perfect. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SenemKantarcioglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hillstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing