We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and delectable food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillstone

Hillstone
Ranked #173 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Manhattan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and delectable food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Hillstone is a great neighborhood place. The dim lighting and lively bar scene make it a fun place for a Friday night. Yes, you may have to wait a while for your table but it will be worth the wait. The sushi is amazing as are the steaks. An open kitchen where everything is freshly prepared! We also loved the grilled artichoke appetizer!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prekteacher1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    157
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Cool NYC Bar/restaurant,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Looking for ages to find a decent steak house and finally found Hillstone, First impressions were great, busy open and modern kitchen, cool music in the background, loads of New Yorkers round the bar area and greeted by a very hospitable waiter from Texas, who asked where we would like to sit, helped us with the menu choices and immediately brought our drinks round. I chose the half chicken, my brothers both opted for fillet steak, everything was perfectly cooked and good generous portions. We had a bottle of Argentinian Melbec and it was that nice, we ordered a second. The sweets were also lovely. Overall a really very good experience, the only negatives being i thought the prices were a touch expensive, with tips we spent around $290 and i just found the lighting to be a bit too dark, especially in the toilets , ,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I keep coming back to this restaurant whenever I am in town and I never had an issue.
At first it might be a bit difficult to spot this place as it is in the lower floor of a more or less anonymous building. But once inside it is a total different story: the décor is very nice, live music, open kitchen and a nice bar corner where you can sip your drink or have a bite.
The menu is extensive and the meat cuts are just great, tender and juicy but if you decide for the bar counter then a limited selection is on offer. The wine list is also interesting. The staff is friendly and professional and the whole ambience is just very good. This is not a very cheap restaurant but I think the money you spend is well worth. Book a table or be prepared to wait. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank STEVE-CH-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Shock without Awe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have been going to Hillstone/NY for several years. It is a neighborhood place with consistently good food. Normally I would not write a review, but for the SHOCK effect the other night.

Prices are (now) out of line both for the quality and the ambiance. Let me explain the shock. $34 for ribs with a side. I am not trying to review the ribs, which are non-fatty, well done, fall off the bone, on the dry side ... but I happen to like their rendition. And what I particularly like at Hillstone is that you can substitute any side dish for the usual side. So I like the Kale salad or the bok choy instead of the normal "sides" with ribs and even the burger (which is an excellent burger).

BUT $34 for the ribs and a side salad or veggie? And $19 for a burger?

Even in New York City, for a nice restaurant (with the usual loud din of noise) this is pricey. The quality, as I said, is good but commanding those prices?

As for environment, the restaurant is VERY noisy, primarily due to a din from the bar area. At the bar you can usually not hear anyone you are talking to without shouting, which of course causes more shouting. The TV's on don't help. The noise spills over into the restaurant, so if you want to have a pleasant dinner with companions, make sure that you sit at the back of the restaurant. If you sit at a table near the front, you will contribute to the shouting, or will just not converse.

I will continue to go to Hillstone, now and then at lunch. I will not again order their ribs...there are far, far better ribs available and even though the alternatives are often pricey, they are inexpensive by comparison.

It saddens me that Hillstone has raised their prices over the last several years to this level. Apparently "daily" since even the price on a recent evening was higher than the price on their latest online menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYC_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Is owened by Houston's and has great food and service. It has great meat and fish dishes. Located in South Midtown and with awesome decor. This restaurant is very popular and has great qulity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lbaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hillstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing