We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent meat and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keens Steakhouse

Keens Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Keens Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 13,263 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 5th and 6th
Transit: N, R F, Q, B, D A,C,E & 1,2,3,9 on 34th Street
Description: Keens Steakhouse, a classic New York chophouse, was already famous for its steaks and chops at the turn of the century. Founded in 1885, Keens has 90,000 clay pipes that line the ceilings – pipes once smoked by customers after dinner. Today Keens legendary mutton chops and dry aged prime steaks are still without equal in the city.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent meat and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was my first time in this place and it didn´t dissapoint me at all. I ordered the 12 oz. prime fillet mignon ($49) plus some fries and a glass of wine and all come around $75.
The meat was simply outstanding and the service excellent. This was a very good meal and really worth it if you want to have good meat in the middle of Manhattan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,025
    1,154
    300
    109
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A memorable meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We chose this restaurant because of the reviews and the fact that it was one street over from out hotel (The Strand on W 37th). We were in the atmospheric Lily Langtree Room which only had 6 or 7 tables, dark wood paneling and thousands of clay pipes on the ceilings. Our waiter was helpful and when 3 of our party chose the thick cut bacon starter, he advised that it came with 3 slices and we would never eat our main if we had this, so we had one slice each of the most delicious, 5 mm thick bacon and that was perfectly adequate. I had the 12 oz filet mignon and should have had the 8 oz as the meal was filling and I was unable to get to the dessert. The steak was perfectly cooked and so tender, it could have been cut with a spoon.

It is expensive, but you get what you pay for. It is in a prime location and very well staffed with professional waiters. I will return on my next trip to New York.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Plymtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
279 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Historic restaurant with amazing steak and lunch salads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ceiling hosts historic coillection of men's smioking pipes, including Clevenand's and TR's. Steaks are greeat, but first time we tried entree salads for lunch. They are spectacular. Great meat, shrimp, chicken and veggie combos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“won't be back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband had done considerable research on TripAdvisor.
Keens was suppose to be incredible.
He is very particular on his beef. Usually his research pays off. Not so much this time.
The atmosphere was good. The pipes on the ceiling and displays were interesting.
The waiter was okay. He seemed to be put off when my husband asked for sweet wine for me and kept trying to get us to order a champagne drink. I don't like champagne.
The rolls were hard at first. When you're hungry you will persevere.
We asked for more rolls and these were much softer. I had to use my steak knife to cut through the first batch.
The celery, carrots, pickles and olives were good. Cold and refreshing.
Next came the bacon appetizer. Tasty, but a little heavy.
The Cesar salad had an awful flavor to it and no one could eat it. The mashed potatoes were perfect.
The porter house for three came. Although plentiful and cooked to a good medium, there was little flavor.
For the price we paid for this meal it should have been excellent, but was not.
We won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank evance10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a wonderful steakhouse in Manhattan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had never heard the name of this steakhouse when I lived in Manhattan. What a coincidence! I caught up where it was at last, and booked our seats. The interior of house was amazing with thousands of pipes under ceiling. Not only delicious and powerful steaks they served but also their services were excellent!! If I come to NYC, I will have to go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmieNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keens Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Keens Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing