We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Keens Steakhouse

Keens Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Keens Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 5th and 6th
Transit: N, R F, Q, B, D A,C,E & 1,2,3,9 on 34th Street
Description: Keens Steakhouse, a classic New York chophouse, was already famous for its steaks and chops at the turn of the century. Founded in 1885, Keens has 90,000 clay pipes that line the ceilings – pipes once smoked by customers after dinner. Today Keens legendary mutton chops and dry aged prime steaks are still without equal in the city.
Stockton California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Portion sizes are LARGE. My husband and I shared an 8 oz Filet, sauted mushrooms, asparagus and a baked potato and were not able to finish all of the food that was brought to our table. The steak was cooked to perfection and our server had the chef slice the filet for us so that it would be easier to share. They have a nice wine list and we also shared a bottle of Pinot Noir that was fabulous!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura4288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,276
    1,222
    326
    122
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Packed like sardines unfortunately the steaks just didn't cut it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Dark and compact Keens is certainly an old fashion style steak house. With the ceiling lined with smokers pipes and the small lobster tank filled with some decent sized lobsters it's certainly a unique feel. Tables are extremely packed and you would be lucky if you can get into (or out of) the bench side of most tables without help from the waiter. The closeness does allow you to easily peruse your neighbors food choice and start get selection options for the night.


Fat was certainly aged and it had a nice flavor but the meat was certainly tough on the T-Bone far more than expected. The tenderloin side was obviously better but still not the best I have had by a long shot. Overall a huge disappointment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CakeVampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Me and my wife celebrated our 25th anniversary in this restaurant. It was very good experience.
I'd put 5 for it, but 2 small things. 1st - we had to ask personnel to turn AC on - it was pretty hot inside. 2nd - some glasses were not washed properly. But the rest of it was very good.
Tips: - on weekend reservation will help a lot;
- I'd recommend "Our Legendary Mutton Chop" as entree;
- as desert - "Keens’s Red Berry Bibble" - its heaven!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJ_tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
291 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Old school steakhouse at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Come here a few times a year and NEVER dissappoints ! Their famous " mutton chop " is a classic... Went the other day for lunch after a trade show at the Javits. Sat at the bar... had the sliced Steak Beveta salad... delicious! cooked perfectly and plenty for lunch. together with a cabernet.... fantastic. Traditional looking steakhouse decor with plenty of tables with up and down seating rooms. HUGE scotch selection and about a million old pipes covering the ceiling. A must visit if you desire a fantastic steak in an old school setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BIGMIKE275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We visited here the night before New Years and the restaurant was pumping. The service staff were great though and we were never without a drink in our hand. Looking around the restaurant I saw the serving sizes were massive so I ordered the filet mignon and my husband was more adventurous and went for the rib eye on the bone.
The steaks were cooked to perfection and the side of creamed spinach topped our meal off nicely.
The restaurants decor is fascinating, the ceiling is covered in old pipes (smoking) and there is a story behind it on the menu which was nice to have a read of.
Even though it's a steak house the dessert menu was pretty amazing also, the creme brûlée was especially delicious.
We will definitely be back to this restaurant when we visit New York next.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keens Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Keens Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing