We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Club Without Being a Club” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Round Table Restaurant

Round Table Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Round Table Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,205 of 13,260 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Club Without Being a Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Distinguished venue, well-maintained, comfortable, a place to entertain business associates without being a club. Quiet. Pricey, even by New York City standards, but worth it to build good will. Large drinks, decent wine list without being pretentious. If it were just me and pals, I'd pick someplace cheaper, but good for VIPs.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank castoro42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    40
    28
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Snotty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

My family and I go to The City at the beginning of December every year for the past 10 years and it is our tradition to stop at The Algonquin for dinner, or at least a drink. This past weekend we went and it was quite disappointing. For the first time in ten years, the servers were extremely rude and snotty. We felt rushed and if I am paying $15 for a glass of wine, I want to relax with it. Also, we always come to see Matilda the cat who hangs around the entrance to the hotel. It's our favorite way to end our day. This year we were informed that she is no longer downstairs at night. I really wish that had been posted somewhere on their website. Perhaps we would not have dashed the 7 blocks from where we were having dinner to grab a drink there before we had to meet our bus if we had known what a disappointment this was going to be.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 8Pawprints479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

This restaurant served food that seemed like it had been sitting around for hours. It was a real disappointment and too expensive for the quality served.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ricebowlsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful,especially for out of towners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Had drinks in the Algonquin lobby . It is a comfortable,classy quiet room . Then we moved to a table at the round table restaurant ..really just an extension of the lobby. It was quiet...unusual for a new York restaurant .delightful

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindasal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice pre Theater dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband had the price fix dinner and I just an entree. There was plenty as we shared the soup - a delicious bisque, and the dessert- a chocolate mousse.
A bit on the expensive side - as can be expected in NYC. Nice decor good service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teatime679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Round Table Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Round Table Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing