We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service with authentic Irish”

Playwright Celtic Pub
Ranked #530 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Established in 2000. Playwright Celtic Pub is the second act of the successful Playwright franchise here in New York City! In the heart of the theater district and just steps from Hell's Kitchen, the Playwright welcomes locals and visitors alike for 4 floors of Irish welcome!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great service with authentic Irish”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great place for a pint and some pub food. The service was great and the bartender spoke to us like we were old friends. He even made some great recommendations for places to eat in the area. The atmosphere was cozy and authentic, no fake irish allowed :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    262
    102
    16
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday Local”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

There are 2 of these pubs in a similar area. We used the one around 45th St.

Ideal as a local to the MilFord Plaza Hotel. We used this at some point most days of our trip 14th-18th March 2013.
We imediately felt it was like a wee local pub to use and had breakfast here one morning which was very good.
There is a good seclection of beers and spirits and for Irish and UK visitors there is beer (biter/heavy/dark beers) to cover most of our tastes including Smihwicks and Newcastle Brown Ale.
Plenty of TVs which can screen multiple channels including Sky sports.
The staff were fabulous and the evenings were rocking with a DJ who does and excellent mix of music.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very little fish in Fish & Chips”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I thought fish & chips in a "PUB" would be a good bet. NOT. I could not really find the fish. The beer batter was great as were the chips, but where was the fish?
Husbands choice was special of the night, and his was excellent.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GEtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ok food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Nice bar just off Broadway. Food is good and reasonably priced. Music is quite loud though, so if going for a quite catch up or chat might not be the ideal location

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Cobb Salad EVER...”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were coaxed into the place by a very nice gentleman at the door who indicated if, I have driven my girlfriend to drink, that this would be the place to go...We went upstairs to the bar and were treated wonderfully by "Karen the bartender"...She was attentive, brilliant, poured a decent drink, the whole time taking care of drink orders from waitpeople, etc. We never felt rushed, but were able to put down some reasonably priced drinks before heading to the high rent district (BB Kings)...The "Cali-Cobb" salad was the best ever, with generous amounts of, well, everything...Looked like about a half/avocado on top...The balsamic dressing was delicious, aye...It was halfway between our hotel on 54th and Times Square, so it broke up the walk perfectly....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank archiedelver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playwright Celtic Pub also viewed

 

Been to Playwright Celtic Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing