We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for dinner”
Review of Le Marais

Le Marais
Ranked #1,739 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Queen Creek AZ
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Place for dinner”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The place is tucked into a busy side street - you would walk past it if you weren't looking for it, but it is right next to the parking garage on 46. The waiter was very good and the place was very nice.
I had a skirt steak, with roasted potatoes. The steak was done nicely.

I would recommend a stop for dinner while in town on business as I was.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ogroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    167
    58
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Took Son To Dinner”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well with the decor the service and the food. You know what you're getting into consistent and it's good. It's one of the better kosher restaurants in Manhattan.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank djbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Valentines Day 2013”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me et my husband went there after renewing our marriage vows in Times Square. Feb.14,2013.
I had the Onglet and mash potatoes, salad and one glass of red wine maybe two glasses.
We had an entree of cold cuts. It was a bit expensive but we really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Our waiter was great and my husband was able to speak his native language, French to the waiter. As sometimes you go to a French Restaurant and no one is French.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slukaduka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great food even for non-red-meat eaters”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

When in New York I often end up here with others who keep kosher and crave the red meat we cannot get in non-kosher restaurants back home. I have been a pescatarian for over 5 years and found the flounder to be excellent. It was a nice size portion and prepared perfectly. The atmosphere leaves a little to be desired--it is a little cramped--but it is a New York Jewish institution.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gefilte63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic kosher experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I don't love going kosher. When I have to in NYC I prefer prime KO.
This place is dark and I guess pretty good steak but they need to warn you when they're putting sardines in your salad. It's not a surprise that anyone ever wants

Soufflé was good. But they light the birthday candle in front of the birthday boy which made it less exciting.

Bottom line: come for steak. Or shidduch. Not tuna nicoise

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Marais also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing