We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday brunch - kosher place ”
Review of Le Marais

Le Marais
Ranked #1,768 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch - kosher place ”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Went here with a friend of mine for Sunday Brunch .. The portion they serve is large and tastes good.. Though its little expensive considering the quality and quantity it's worth it .. For those who look for kosher it's a good choice and even for others

Helpful?
1 Thank Hareesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    164
    58
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Solid Kosher Institution”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The reason I use the word institution is because the restaurant has been there for as long as I can remember and has always been very solid. You'll get a starter and main for around $50 and the quality of the food is very reliable. I ordered poorly this time (duck) but the soups are always excellent as are the steaks. Service is usually very good despite the restaurant always appearing full and bustling. I have heard some horror stories about the service but have never experienced them for myself.

The location (heart of times square) makes Le Marais additionally attractive because you can go there before a show (after a show is a bit risky because last order is at 10pm).

I would recommend a reservation as this place is packed all the time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank internationalist159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“welcoming bistro”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a Kosher Frensh Bistro---anyhow I'm not Jewish, but dined alone after theater on a Saturday night--came in about 1040 PM; was taken to a great table, wonderfully friendly but not overly intrusive service, and a quite nice hanger steak and bordeaux. I'd go back you can believe it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Had an amazing time. Good food, good service, great prices”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Was there for my birthday with my family. Had a great time there. Drank 2 bottles of wine (like never before), had amazing steaks and the service was tremendous. Recommendation: Go and enjoy. Family and friends kind of a restaurant. Not a first date kind of a place. Enjoy

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rdekhkanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
222 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

First time visit to this restaurant was for lunch in a party of six. We had reservations but since people were arriving from all over Manhattan and traffic was basically at a standstill, some in our party were delayed. Nonetheless no one was impatient or upset that we were waiting for everyone to arrive before ordering. When we did order, the food arrived in a timely manner and everyone enjoyed what they had whether it was fish, steak or chicken. All items were prepared perfectly and served attractively and the service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veneto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Marais also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing