We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Cyndi Lauper’s favorite restaurant ”
Review of Orso

Orso
Reserve a Table
2
Today
8:00 PM
Ranked #137 of 16,396 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hell's Kitchen
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

So I did some research and it said that this is one of Cyndi Lauper’s favorite restaurants so i checked it out and it’s delicious! I truly enjoyed the quail I had and the environment and it was great! Go check it out yourself! There are a few steps so be aware of this!

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank Happy1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 446 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant is near heart of Broadway theatre district so not surprisingly many patrons appeared to either be going to, or just been to, a show.

Given that patronage, Orso do it very well.

Rapid service without overly rushing. Minor touches a bit odd - like opening a bottle of wine without offering a taste or pour, saying “We won’t pour your wines - we leave it to you to allow you to dine at your own pace.” (Really? That was going to make all the difference?); not offering cracked pepper; etc.

But very efficient.

Food quality high. Not the cheapest but not bad, either.

Not sure how the experience would stack up if you weren’t going pre theatre and wanted a more leisurely dinner. Might be a bit of a disappointment.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Torbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019

Orso is just a touch above the average restaurant row shop. Great dishes and a very nice venue. On a recent trip it was booked solid over lunch and I had to try another day. Reserve early.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Hoffmnron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

It is a great restaurant!!!
The staff is extremely friendly and made us feel like we were regulars.
They made me a special vegan meal which was absolutely delicious.
Will definitely go again when I'm back in NYC

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 794bruceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

We ate at Orso before going to a show. The meal was wonderful and our server was great. The only complaint is overhearing one server (not ours) constantly talk about politics and dropping the occasional f-bomb. Other than having to block him out, everything else was great.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orso also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing