We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend except for House specialty”
Review of Orso

Orso
Reserve with OpenTable
Orso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #482 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would not recommend except for House specialty”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I brought a party of 6 after the theater (this is on Broadway's restaurant row). My party included a couple who own a restaurant (wife is chef). The house special was outstanding and that is the only thing I would really recommend (crispy calves liver pounded paper thin with crispy onion strings and served with fresh lemon- AMAZING even if you are not a fan of liver). Calamari was also very good but everything else was just adequate, barely. Chef friend ordered arctic char and got pink salmon. Papparadelle bolognese was bland and just above chef boy ar dee. Pizza (we asked waiter to bring us the best one) didn't even look good. The shellfish dish did not get any good comments, nor did the muscles. Our waiter was very pleasant but the service was not very good, even when it became almost empty at the end of the evening. Too many great restaurants in NYC, I would not return except for the liver. La Rivista across the street has much, much better food and service as well as a lot more atmosphere. I was embarrassed that I had brought this group to this restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    107
    33
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Went to NYC for a girls trip to the us open. Had dinner at orso the evening we arrived. Staff was attentive and helpful. The food was delicious. Had the mussels appetizer and pasta bolognese - delish. Nice wine list and desserts as well. Can't wait to return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathy i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian food near the Theater District”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our second visit to Orso and it was again outstanding. This time we saw a couple of Broadway actors which made it quite exciting for our family.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Theater District Gem!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Consistently excellent cuisine with daily specials. Dignifed atmosphere/friendly staff. Often frequented by the stars of the theater.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Outstanding and Unusual Italian Food”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Orso is in the Theatre District about a block from our Broadway musical that evening. We walked from our hotel and read the address numbers as we strolled down the street. We actually passed it by, because the building is painted an unassuming taupe and sits back from the street, with no windows or signs to label it. When we retraced our steps, we stopped where it was supposed to be, and voila, there it was! When we entered, we were welcomed with a warm and friendly atmosphere. Because we did not have a reservation, we were seated near the kitchen. But that was actually a treat. The chefs and waiters worked harmoniously, and everything was clean and fresh. My husband ordred a sumptuous stuffed quail with sausage and mushrooms in a marsala sauce. I ordered soft shell crabs (2) served on a bed of sweet corn and tomatoes. The waiter recommended excellent wine to pair with our meals - a Sauvignon Blanc for the quail and a Chardonnay for the crabs. The blueberry lemon sorbet is a very dark purple color, so was a little off-putting, but from the very first bite, it was absolutely delicious and very refreshing. As we left the restaurant to make the curtain, we noticed that at least half of the patrons had ordered the same dessert!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orso also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing