We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected so much more”
Review of Starlight Deli

Starlight Deli
Ranked #3,419 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
AZ
Level Contributor
520 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“I expected so much more”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Went there for breakfast and it was such a disappointment. The lox and bagel were great but the eggs, etc. were mediocre. If you're in the neighborhood, fine. But don't make a special trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BuffCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a little cafe/deli bar serving all day. We went for a late breakfast. The food was really nice and American Diner quality. But the real gem is the fact that the waiter and waitresses are all budding broadway singers. During breakfast we heard a good dozen songs sung live by our waiting staff. Some of them had really amazing voices that made you stop in your tracks transfixed by the quality of the performance.

To me, this is a must. I will definitely go back on my next visit to New York

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Professional468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Singing waiters , good service , good atmosphere , food not as good as other places we visited , but worth going for entertainment

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank stevenc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Authentic NY diner”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We fancied a diner which was a bit more authentic and tried this place out - it looks a bit battered and aged. But that gives it character. The staff were really friendly they really loved talking about the NY teams and the food was excellent.

We liked it so much we popped in on our last day for a slice of american pie. They have a full selection of homemade pies from apple to pumpkin

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SportingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Mo
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Only one block from Times Square. This little deli is clean and offers many good sandwiches. The staff is polite and eager to please. They offer a variety of drinks. Reasonable prices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kcsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starlight Deli also viewed

 

Been to Starlight Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing