We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“christmas eve dinner”

Appetito Restaurant
Ranked #7,167 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: B, D, F & V trains to 42nd Street-Bryant Park and 7 train to 5th Avenue.
Description: Nestled between the Theater District and Times Square, Appetito Ristorante has been serving refined Italian cuisine for 20 years. Appetito's comfortable ambiance and private skylight room make it a favorite. From exquisite ambiance to traditional Italian cuisine, Appetito Ristorante is a must for those who demand excellence.
New Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“christmas eve dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went to this restaurant because they had an extensive menu and reasonable prices. Since we were going with afew family members for Christmas Eve dinner we wanted everyone to have choices as to what they liked. Well unfortunately when I made the reservation they neglected to tell us it was not the regular menu or the regular prices....The special menu was $10-$15 more
per entree and very limited too boot. We were very very disappointed. It was the old bait and switch. The restaurant was also fairly empty. I would never go back. Food was decent but $80.00 per person was way over the top for a simple italian restaurant that was very old and not updated.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginnyfo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    15
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great service. Great food. The homemade tortellini was to die for. The menu offered just the right amount of dishes and the four specials were varied. The red sauce was excellent, and the crab- stuffed mushrooms cooked to perfection.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sincerelyput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What a marvelous restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the "ultimate" New York Italian restaurant. The food and service were superb, the atmosphere, comfortable and inviting. The calamari starters were to die for! The chocolate dessert was better than anything I've ever eaten in Europe.

I plan to go back each and every time I visit New York.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebiDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great Restaurant !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have been coming to this restaurant for over 10 years and it is consistently good.
The food is delicious and done just right. My favorite is pasta with seafood.But everything is good. the staff is friendly and always accommodating and helpful. . Must have their homemade tiramisu.

The place is close to Times Square and Theater so we frequent it often.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenn263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good, not great, but good for a pre-theater or quick meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Not the best Italian in New York but certainly acceptable and for the price a good value compared to many other Italian restaurants in midtown. Have been twice and service has been very good each time. Go with the daily specials. The risotto with mussels was very nice. The gnocchi al pesto is a bit bland actually. The veal chop was quite good. IF you are a tourist looking for an Italian meal without spending a fortune, this is good without being memorable. IF you want memorable, try Nanni or Il Mulino and bring your wallet.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appetito Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Appetito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing