We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good, popular and you pay for that.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushiden Sixth Ave

Sushiden Sixth Ave
Ranked #2,470 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
407 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Consistently good, popular and you pay for that.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Eat here couple times a month and it never disappoints. Traditional, reliable, sushi. Ambience is nothing special but meal is always good and as it is midtown, you will pay accordingly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    36
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent fod and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The staff at our hotel actually recommended this restaurant to us.
And we where really pleased with it!
The service was very friendly, and the food tasty, with great flavors and variety. The waitress was helpful ind recommending food and beverage - especially when it came to dessert. We visited, at the end of our stay in New York City. If only we had known earlier, this place existed, we would surely had revisited it, to try out some of the other interesting food on the menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katerina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Simple, bare bones sushi that is fresh and classically prepared. No bells and whistles, just good sushi. If you like extensive menus with creative dishes, this isn't for you.... no yellowtail with garlic ponzu, not even a little lemon on your scallop sushi. Just pared down versions of very fresh fish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skygirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

It's the little things that matter when you enter a restaurant. The complementary hot towels and hot green tea following your meal as the perfect touch! Not to mention, the roll and green salad I had hit the spot!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exceptional old school Japanese sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

First off, let me just say if you are willing to be seen in public eating a "Philly roll" or a "Volcano roll" or a "Rainbow roll" or whatever, stop here, this place is not for you. This is a real Japanese sushi bar/restaurant of excellent quality that (thankfully) refuses to be Americanized. Traditional Japanese touches: hot towels when you arrive, change of hashi (chopsticks) between the appetizer, sashimi and sushi courses, sushi chef applies the wasabi and shoyu (soy sauce) to the sushi, etc. I had done my research and, although I am a frequent Trip Advisor contributor, am always wary of any reviews of sushi bars but I had good vibes about this place. Was in Manhattan and had to have great sushi but didn't have the lead time to book any of the greats (Morimoto, Nobu) or any of the hot new places that get written up in the New York Times, but had scoped this out. Tip: if you call for reservations and the first words are in Japanese ("Moshi Moshi") you are off to a good start. Anyway, the day after Christmas the bar was never 100% full but there were a lot of parties at tables. The service was perfect in the Japanese tradition. Appetizers: onkimo (monkfish liver in ponzu sauce); komochi konbu (fish eggs that have been laid on kombu seaweed and harvested; salty and crunchy; delicious but not for everyone); sunomono (salad of various seaweeds, cucumber and various cooked shellfish in a rice wine vinegar sauce) and one more. The final appetizer is also a tip: if you want serious sushi try it: maguro natto. This is tuna with fermented soybeans and most Japanese are so shocked that an American will order it that they will be convinced that you will eat anything and will not hold back on anything afterwards. (The best stuff is never printed on the menu in English.) Next: sashimi. Try the deluxe omakase (chef's choice) at $50. This will vary but we saw and mentioned mirugai (giant clam that is getting harder and harder to find), chu toro (fatty ~ but not the fattiest = O toro) blue fin tuna), saba (house marinated mackerel); hamachi (yellowtail). The only non-winner was a giant tako (octopus) with umebeyoshi (fermented plum paste); it was merely a B+. Everything ranged between merely excellent and mind boggling. Then on to sushi: had to have some of the chu toro as sushi; anago (many places will only have unagi [fresh water eel] but I prefer anago [salt water eel, lightly brushed with eel sauce, not cloyingly sweet like in less authentic places) and finally uni (sea urchin eggs ~ again not a universal favorite but my favorite and an item that has to be absolutely to be great. Theirs met that criteria. We could have kept going, but had to stop. Beverages: superior sake offerings for the appetizer and sashimi courses (sake is not drunk with sushi because rice wine with rice is too much rice) included a range of prices and styles. We tried a cold karakuchi style (very dry) sake that was $18 a glass but there were but there were more basic and (I assume) hot sake styles available. There were also Japanese beers (e.g. Asahi Super Dry) and very nice wines that work with sushi. Where this fits in the sushi world: way beyond the faux or Americanized sushi joints; not nuevo sushi such as you would find with Morimoto (not a diss; I love what Morimoto and Nobu and others have done with Japanese traditional cuisine) ; a shade cheaper than the "hot" chef places that we could not get into anyway; on short notice, but real Edo-style traditional sushi at the highest quality level and with no cream cheese or avocado visible in the sushi case. Service: just need one word: perfection. Price point: For three of us pulling out all the stops and having a serious sushi experience you don't get in Harrisburg, PA (and couldn't afford weekly or even monthly) we dropped $560. You could easily do it for less because we had 6 glasses of the $18/glass Sake and a lot of the chu toro. One could easily get by with a less cash outlay. Walking distance from the Hotel W (where we were staying) and the Times Square Sheraton (and that area in general). Bottom line: recommended without qualification for real sushi people; extreme negative recommendation if you are looking for a California Roll. (Who am I? Ate my first sushi in 1983; make my own sushi at home; speak Japanese [poorly] and have had sushi all over including Tokyo. I am sounding like a sushi elitist here but I want to be clear that there are Japanese sushi people out there reading reviews and people looking for Americanized sushi. I honestly, absolutely do not denigrate or condemn the later but direct this review to the former. Go ti so sama desita! (It was a feast.)(excuse the Japanese translations throughout.)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Australopithecus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushiden Sixth Ave also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sushiden Sixth Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing