We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Pre-Theatre Dinner”
Review of Le Rivage

Le Rivage
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Rivage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #464 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Avenues
Transit: C & E trains to 50th Street; N, R & W trains to 49th Street; 1 train to 50th Street; and all trains to Times Square/42nd Street.
Description: Le Rivage offers you a cozy, romantic French country atmosphere where traditional French cuisine is expertly prepared for your pleasure. Fresh flowers embellish each table. Prices are delightfully affordable with incredibly rewarding selections; a true bargain in the heart of the theatre district.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great for a Pre-Theatre Dinner”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were looking for a French restaurant and discovered Le Rivage. The location is perfect for a pre-theatre dinner. Prices were great - prix fixe for less than $40 included appetizer; entree; dessert and coffee. Service was very good; the decor was delightful and the menu had a very wide selections of options from which to choose. But best of all was the excellent food. Tables are close together so it may not be for everyone. We however liked it very much and are will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flsunshinegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    212
    61
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite a Surprise !”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Didn't know you could get such a great meal in NYC for $25.00.
I love duck and this was the best I've had in 30 years ! We had a group of 11 and everyone loved their meals. I thought this place might be a tourist trap, but it was far from it.
As a native New Yorker, I wish someone had told me about this restaurant a long time ago..
I hope to be back soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Authenitic French ambiance. Polish servers. Prix fixe lunch a real value. Owners have esablished a reputation. Must reserve in advance on performance days. They serve sweetbreads, hard to get anywhere else I would trust.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ritafcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,030 reviews
690 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Disappointed -very average food & service - but inexpensive”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I chose this French, price fixe restaurant for one of our three NY dinners based on TA positive reviews. Perhaps it was a matter of expectations (we wanted a "gourmet" French meal), but we were both quite disappointed. On the plus side, the cost was $25.00 for an starter, entree and dessert (we didn't know this in advance - it would have been a "warning sign"); the choices were also quite extensive. Unfortunately, IMHO, the quality of all of our choices was average, at best. Also, the service was inattentive and disinterested.

It was almost as if you went to a French person's home who was an average cook - and was in a distracted mood the whole evening. What really bothered us was the stale (?day old bread) and the poor quality dessert pastries. Many of the positive reviews seem to be for lunch - I suppose this is a "lunch quality" place - but is in no way a high quality, fine French restaurant. It is country kitchen type of place - based on the food, price and service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Per-theater dinner”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a cute restaurant with excellent food and service located within walking distance of most shows. The prix fixe dinner had a variety of choices. We arrived still full from a large lunch and pastries in little Italy and didn't realize that it was only a prix fixe meal at that time. I do think you can order ala carte later in the evening. That being said, dinner and wine were VERY affordable! The only thing I didn't like was that the tables were packed together SO close, so there wasn't a lot of privacy or intimacy that I usually want with a nice dinner out. The maitre d' literally had to pull the table away from the wall for me (and those on either sides of us) to get in and out bc there was no room between tables. That being said, we would still recommend le rivage as a delicious per-theater stop!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingspartan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Rivage also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing