We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LA Rivista Palatine Restaurant

LA Rivista Palatine Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
LA Rivista Palatine Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,906 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: between eight and nith ave.
Transit: ace to port authority
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
227 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a great dinner at this place. Nice ambiance and food was delicious and service was perfect. I will definitely be back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cclakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    58
    19
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Archbald, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
180 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Our first visit - Good food on Restaurant Row”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We'll probably try here again and order something different. The service was very good and the food was too. Restaurant Row is definitely convenient to the theaters so that's the draw. Some of the restaurants are a bit better - but most offer a quick meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMSArchbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Superb Northern Italian in the Theatre District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've eaten numerous times here and never been disappointed. The venue is lovely, the service from coat-check to bus-boy professional and knowledgeable, and the food always beautifully prepared, plated, and served. For meatballs-and-spagehtti go elsewhere but if you're looking for fine veal, seafood, Tuscan beef, etc. this is by far the best place on 'Restaurant Row' in the Theatre District. After 8:00 P.M. there's usually a pianist/vocalist so you may want a table away from the piano for conversation. There's little if any bar scene so no need to put up with those who've had one-too-many.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Warm, Welcome Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were walking by on our way to another restaurant, stopped to casually look into La Rivista, and were warmly asked to "join us" by the maitre d. We impulsively accepted, and very glad we did. The restaurant is carpeted, rare in NYC, the tables are well-spaced, so I could hear myself think. The staff were exceptionally warm and attentive, without being intrusive. The seafood salad appetizer was big enough to be an entree and could easily be split for two. Our only comment was that the seafood salad could have used more shrimp, scallops, etc. and less octopus - lots of octopus. The salmon entree is quite good. Two comments on the lasagna bolognese entree. The lasagna itself is excellent, especially what tasted like very fresh pasta. The bolognese sauce on top was very rich and more creamy than our taste. The piano player was a very pleasant surprise, singing Broadway tunes and many others. Only one comment, though. Instead of background music, the piano player gives a performance, sometimes so loudly that it can be difficult to talk during the performance. We will definitely return, however, and now will know exactly what to expect.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Reliable Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We often return to LA Rivista when we're in New York. It's a welcoming place, with a warm and quiet ambience, a place where you can actually talk. The food is always very good, though not necessarily outstanding. The service is pleasant and subdued but very efficient without any sense of being rushed. We like its close proximity to Times Square where we often stay at a nearby Marriott. And we find that the prices are generally reasonable, especially given the high cost of living in the City. During Restaurant Week they have a good price fixed menu along with their normal a la carte menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carver32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Rivista Palatine Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to LA Rivista Palatine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing