We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”

Ellen's Stardust Diner
Ranked #291 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Popped in here for coffee and cakes. the cakes are fantastic and enormous. We had the "Wicked which was green and minty inspired by the musical. The waiting staff were constantly singing musical songs. very entertaining but can be a bit annoying when they are jumping about just behind your head when you are trying to eat. However great fun

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breeze60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,082
    5,123
    1,773
    590
    511
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fun start to the day :-)”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

When in NYC you just have to visit Ellen's. We went for breakfast and it was fun and so filling we never ate until late evening! I had the breakfast burrito half would have done - but I battled thru the second half ! The service was great and was a fun experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dizzy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

A must in New York. Singing waiters and great food. Stay and for desert and try the adult milkshakes. Fun for all

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

It's not often you have near broadway singers/actors serving your food and drinks! This place is great, the atmosphere is incredible you don't need to reserve for groups under 10 just turn up to be seated. I would recommend the steak most expensive item on the menu but you will not be disappointed! The waiters/waitresses are friendly and there voices are amazing you've not done New York unless you visit here! Our waiter was on one of his last shifts as he was off to be lead in rock of ages!

Helpful?
Thank Lisa021187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My daughter's favorite stop”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The experience was great. There was a line to get in, but it moved amazingly fast. We weren't super hungry, so the four of us split a couple of entrees and 1 dessert. The quesadillas and mac & cheese are items I could have pulled out of my freezer at home. The dessert was yummy. The highlight of the place though was the performers. They were all fabulous, and my 11yo declared this one of her favorite stops of the whole trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraLbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellen's Stardust Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ellen's Stardust Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing