We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally entertaining!!”

Ellen's Stardust Diner
Ranked #309 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Soups, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Totally entertaining!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The menu is full of just, plain homey good food with great portion size (think about sharing). During the meal you are entertained by the waiters and waitresses, all of whom are good-to-great singers with the right touch of drama, comedy, chic, or ?? required by the music. Any flaw in the food is more than made up for by the entertainment..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 24justme49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,700
    4,887
    1,712
    559
    487
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All about the singing (not the food)”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Came here for breakfast with two 16 year old girls, both into dance and drama, and it was the highlight of their trip to New York. It was really unexpected which probably made for a better experience, I'd recommend coming here as part of any trip to NYC.
The atmosphere was fantastic, the decor very authentic but unfortunately the breakfast wasn't that great (hence the four stars). But well worth it for the amazing singing voices, talent in abundance, and the fun atmosphere.
We came the day after my birthday, so didn't get the full birthday singing treatment which being British and easily embarrassed was a good thing! Just a shame the kitchen staff didn't have as much talent as the waiting staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScjMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a pre show meal here and had been told mainly by new Yorkers to avoid it . So glad we didnt because it was really good.
The food was lovely and there was plenty of it , we couldnt manage all the pudding there was that much
Yes it was crowded but that just added to the atmosphere it didnt affect the service.
The best thing was the staff entertaining us with Broadway songs. We loved every minute of it and would definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cleveleystravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Double Charged!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We ate here over a month ago. The food was average and the the singing was all slow boring songs that put you to sleep. That aside the real problem here is they double charged me and refuse to reimburse me!

After our meal was finished i tried to pay using a Mastercard credit card. The waitress came back and said it had declined. I thought this was odd as we have been traveling the world and not had any issues previously. I simply shrugged it off, paid in cash and the waitress handed me the declined receipts. Checking my statements a few weeks later i noticed that the transaction had gone through and they had charged to my credit card WITHOUT AN AUTHORISED SIGNATURE.

I rang the restaurant and spoke to the manager who simply assured me that the transaction would not be posted as it had not been authorised by a signature. Two weeks past and the transaction is still there. I ring again and the manager then tells me that i will have to ring during office hours to be put through to the accounts team. The following week i ring in office hours and the manager does not put me through to the accounts team. He then tells me i should wait for the paper statements from my bank just to make sure. I am not sure what century he lives in but who gets paper statements these days? Clearly this was just another attempt to get me off the phone and not help resolve the issue. He again assures me that the "accounts team" will look for my authorised signature and if it is not present I will be refunded.

I have not yet been refunded and now have to wait till i return home after a four month trip to go to my bank and get my money back. Absolutely ridiculous and where I am from this would not be acceptable!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carteruk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Right next the Iridium, and a blast.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The server sing and dance around and you get a great show for the price of your meal in NYC. NYC is a little pricey everywhere, but the prices here were reasonable. The staff is very nice and accommodating. Not to mention talented. A MUST SEE.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Treblok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellen's Stardust Diner also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ellen's Stardust Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing