We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go here and not have a great time.”

Ellen's Stardust Diner
Ranked #306 of 13,681 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You can't go here and not have a great time.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our first experience of dining in NY and what a blast! We had an excellent time here, the staff were friendly and full of energy taking requesting, singing happy birthday and all while entertaining us with hits from broadway.
Boyfriend and I both had burgers, which were far too big for anyone to finish, but definitely delicious. We also shared a portion of wings to start, which were really tasty. No room for desserts unfortunately, but they looked pretty tasty.
If we ever go back to NY, Ellen's will be first on our list of places to return. So much fun.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oodelallyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,825
    4,952
    1,739
    570
    496
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Grub and Free Entertainment.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Very lively, noisy and loud atmosphere, very broadway, very fun. The quality of singing was of a very high standard and the service cannot be faulted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheEatingPineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A really fun place”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were only in New York for two nights and we ended up going to Ellen's Stardust Diner three times while we were there. We had seen a line of people waiting on our first night there and we peeked in the windows. It was right around the corner from our hotel, so when we were looking for a place to have breakfast the next morning, we went back. It was only 7:20 and we were the second table of customers for the day, but the staff still sang songs for us and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our waitress was Jennifer and we loved her singing, as well as her service. Phillip was also a favorite with a beautiful voice, and Danica was great also. We really liked the breakfast - I had an omelet with home fries and my companion had eggs and corned beef hash. We stayed for almost two hours as the place filled up, just listening and drinking coffee. We went back for dinner and for breakfast the next day and loved it each time. I must say that the food at breakfast was a lot better than the food at dinner, but it was a fun experience each time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 819Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Diner with a difference”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Food was ok but had much better in the city. You go for the atmosphere as would be stars sing and serve your tables. It's a novelty place to visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“A meal and a NON STOP show, a GREAT time for all of us!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I don't understand how anyone can NOT love Stardust. Our family spent a week in NYC and this was on our to do list. We were not disappointed :)
The prices are average high considering it's Manhattan. LOW in my opinion if you consider this is a meal AND a show... in California where we live, going to a comedy dinner theatre or similar would be at LEAST double the price.
There was a line out front that initially made our heart sink, but it moved quickly, and the staff was efficient and prompt getting you seated and your order taken and delivered.
Understand your server may change because the servers all rotate turns singing and dancing. They all were so incredibly talented and made us want to get up and dance and sing too, lol!
The food was good, not great, but I have no complaints. The atmosphere is fun, funky and leaves you with a great feeling. I am SO happy we made time for this on our trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle_Haley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellen's Stardust Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ellen's Stardust Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing