We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brodsky's and Baryshnikov's famous restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Russian Samovar

Russian Samovar
Reserve with OpenTable
Russian Samovar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,744 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadwy & 8th
Transit: 50 St (A, C, E) 50 St (1, 2) 7 Av (B, D, E)
Description: Russian Samovar, a landmark restaurant in New York City with rich history, started operations in 1986, and later partnered with Mikhail Baryshnikov and Nobel Prize winning poet Joseph Brodski. We are proud to have won numerous Best of New York awards for our food and flavored vodkas. We support the art community by hosting poetry readings, art shows, and now theater productions. The space has a unique layout with private event space upstairs, which consists of a lounge area and bar, and a private dining room with a balcony. Downstairs is an open dining area and bar with an atmosphere celebrating our Russian heritage. The white piano centerpiece donated by Mr. Baryshnikov ties together our bar with our dining room, and is one of our sources of nightly live music - everything from classic piano scores to Russian / gyspy music on a weekends, as well as jazz on Sundays.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brodsky's and Baryshnikov's famous restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely recommend this place! But not for just vodka shots at the bar. Please go inside, have a great dinner, the food is very good. Order salad Olivier, hatchapoury cheese pie, pirozhki with meat, red soup, beefstroganof, etc. Piano live music every evening, and on Thursday, Friday and Saturday there is an amazing live show of gipsy band and dancers!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank OlgaPaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    89
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun evening of shots and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went to Russian Samovar with my husband and adult daughter and had a blast. A Russian comedy competition was on the screen at the bar and we watched while having several infused vodkas. The plum, pepper and horseradish were favorites although the peach, pear and cherry were also excellent. The bar has just enough kitsch with changing colored lights, lanterns and an evolving bar scene including some lovely single ladies who stopped by to have a quick vodka shot before heading home. Dinner was interesting. We elected to have lots of appetizers rather than entrees. Nothing was delicious but it all went well with the vodka. We each had numerous shots and either the food adequately absorbed all the liquor or we became Russians for the night and upped our tolerance but the evening was jolly and convivial without any of us feeling drunk. I would highly recommend for the experience if not for the cuisine! Try the horseradish vodka!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank drrusl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb service, live music, caviar @ vodka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful evening of vodka, caviar and blinis served by attentive and gracious waiters while being entertained by two talented singers whose repertoire ranged from Russian to Italian to English love songs. We will definitely make this a regular stop on future trips to NYC

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Claudia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Entertaining Bar, Great Vodka!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My business colleague and I spent a lovely couple of hours at Russian Samovar. We sampled nearly all of their vodka infusions and were impressed with most of them. They come in shot size, so it's easy to try them all and not get out of sorts! More importantly, we had a very entertaining conversation with our bartender, Chris, who is absolutely delightful! He even allowed us to try on the Russian military hats that adorn the vodka infusion jars. Excellent bar and staff! I will be back on my next visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank MSM93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Can't Beat the Vodka Fusion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went here twice in three days to partake of the vodka fusions they make here.

At first glance the entry looks a bit sketchy, but when you go in the lights are low and the ambience is inviting. There's a bar and a surprising number of tables. We sat at the bar both nights, and since there wasn't a crowd, the bartenders were always available. Special thanks goes to the young blonde lady (I didn't get her name) who was our bartender both nights. She was prompt and always happy to answer any questions we had about the drinks.

Samovar has around 15 different infused vodkas, either infused with fruit or with some sort of spice. We tried the pepper, horseradish, mango, cherry, raspberry, and plum vodkas, and all were special in their own way. If you like spicy, go for the pepper. The hot pepper plus the alcohol provides a heck of a kick. Stay away from the horseradish. It's like a bad bloody mary. The fruit vodkas tended to be much sweeter for those who liked their drinks not to give them heartburn, but the raspberry was a bit Robitussin-y.

After our second trip there this trip, and the fourth or fifth over the past two years, we realized we've never tried the food, so I can't say anything about it, but if the bartenders, who are Russian, are to be believed, it's very good.

They also feature live music in the evenings, and the little bit we heard was excellent, sounding typically Russian.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SCTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russian Samovar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Russian Samovar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing