We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chicken Pot Pie...Ever!”
Review of O'Casey's - CLOSED

O'Casey's
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Madison and 5th
Transit: 4, 5, 6, 7, S at Grand Central-42nd St. B, D, F, V at 42nd St.-Bryant Park
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Pot Pie...Ever!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I work near here and have been several times, but never took the time to review this Irish pub. The 4 stars are for the best chicken pot pie I have ever had. That crust is so fluffy and flaky, I could sleep on it. The one time I did not order the pot pie, I had one of their fancy gourmet salads, which I found to be bursting with exquisite flavors and very handsomely plated. Well done, O'Casey's. One star deducted for the high price. All and all, I would always go back for that pot pie.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itstuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
211 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Convenient Meal”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I first visited O'Casey's right after Hurricane Sandy so it was an easy choice to go back. The beer is excellent and the food typical of an Irish pub. We found it well served but with large portions. If you want a pub atmosphere, this is the place. Great service and highly recommended

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisintheBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilamoura
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Reuben”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Had a fantastic reuben sandwich & salad here. Real Irish welcome, attentive, non obtrusive service. Was able to have a meeting at the same time, speedy service. Will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonnieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick dinner not really knowing what to expect. Great food and service. Will definitely return next time I'm in nyc :D

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We found this place last year when we stayed just down the road and fancied a pint.

This has now become a 'go to' bar when we fancy a quick pint or some decent, well portioned reasonably priced food. Being just off 5th avenue it is worth the visit if you have a long day shopping, or wake up hungover after a night in Brooklyn!

The staff are always helpful and the beer and food are good. This is no way a gourmet restaurant but certainly a good quality pub you can depend on!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zipzaprap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Casey's also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing