We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi restaurant close to Times square, 'incredible'”

Kodama Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #895 of 13,765 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sushi restaurant close to Times square, 'incredible'”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

If you don't know it you won't find it. One block from times square there is a jewel of NYC a sushi restaurant full of Japanese guests. The sushi is just wonderful and for a fraction of the price you expect. A must in NYC

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    115
    26
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The sushi here was amazing and they had a variety of options id never seen. One roll with sweet potatoes was my favorite. The prices were reasonable and it's right in the heart of the city.

The waitress didn't come around to check on us very often so we waited a bit long to ask for and the receive our check.

Overall I had a great time and would come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peekie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Walking into this place you might think that you've lost your way and walked into a tiny grocer in china town. But I promise you, you've just reached one of the best sushi places in town!! They have the freshest ingredients all the time and you must try their edmame as an apetizer. Their sushi and main dishes are simply the best. If you go during lunch time, make sure to check out their lunch specials. A must-try!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NinaEiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Theater District”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Basic sushi, reasonable priced. A little light on the rice and it tended to fall apart. I was sorry we didn't try the hamburger sushi place which was further away from us, "FIve Napkins" after driving by. People told us it would be packed but that wasn't the case when we drove by the 45th street and Ninth location.

My shoftshell crab was small, always hit or miss usually. Shumi was excellent. Spicy tuna worked. Sat at the bar, NYC table crowding thing going on but they didn't invent the practice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWolfeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok sushi, not great”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I went to this restaurant for dinner for sushi. The sushi fell apart and was very tiny compared to other places I have been. The prices weren't bad, but for the size and quality, it wasn't a good value. If you order iced green tea, it is not freshly brewed, it is out of a bottle. The waitress was not overly attentive, but not bad.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank chicagoheroine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kodama Japanese Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Kodama Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing