We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real italian Food!!!”

Lazzara's Pizza Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Lazzara's Pizza Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,532 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 7th Ave.
Transit: 5 Minute walk from Penn Station & Port Authority
Description: 5 Minute walk from Madison Square Garden, Macy's Herald Square,Time Square, Javitz Center & Empire State Building.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real italian Food!!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The restaurant is located at the second floor of a building on 38 str. Although you might not like the first image of it, make yourself a little courage and sit. It seems a little small and could be noisy when it's full...
But hey, why are you here? Food! And the food is unbelievable good, the best Carbonara pasta in NY so far, pizza in real Italian style! Delicious!
If I really want something Italian, for sure I'll come back here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livius44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    51
    12
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stumbled upon this place as we were looking for somewhere to eat lunch near Times Square. So glad we did! We had the lasagna pizza with ricotta cheese, ground beef, and red sauce and it was divine! The crust was nice and crispy, the cheese was hot, and everything tasted delicious. I would definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linnsey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Puts all the rest to shame”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tony's family has gotten pizza right for a very long time and it's no wonder there's a wait at lunchtime. NO ONE make pizza like Lazzara's.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank michaelc363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great crust on pizza”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Great waiter, slow water filling by bus lady, delicious white pizza. Strange interior...kind of cool ill old school, but weird clutter and kept hearing the beeping sound of smoke alarm battery needing to be changed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aprilstevetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had 1 hour to eat before jumping on a train at Penn Station - midtown is full of mediocre places, but luckily I came across Lazzara's on TripAdvisor. The eggplant napoleon was shockingly good, especially when you consider it was early March and there was no locally available veg. The pizza was unlike anything I've had in NYC... more reminiscent of something you would find in a village in Italy (not Naples, though). And the interior reinforced all these feelings...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazzara's Pizza Cafe also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Lazzara's Pizza Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing