We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great French dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tout Va Bien

Tout Va Bien
Reserve with OpenTable
Tout Va Bien is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,027 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: E c train one block away on 50th sreeet.
Transit: E, C train one block away on 50th Street.
Somerdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great French dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a very small restaurant with an authentic French feel. The waitress spoke in French and the menu is in French and English with many traditional French foods. Reservations are strongly advised. There is a pre-theater menu with 3 courses of limited choices for a fixed price, or the regular menu. It is less crowded if you go early and the service is better. We would definitely return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    125
    38
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
389 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A comfortable choice; excellent food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We selected Tout Va Bien for a midday meal. We enjoyed exceptional service and our luncheon choice was extremely good. We would recommend this restaurant without reservation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardB562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy French restaurant, warm atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I ate here after a matinee show. We were pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere was very warm, as if you're dining at a small neighborhood restaurant owned by friends. I had the mussels appetizer and Beef Bourguignon as my main course, and my wife had a salad and the Salmon Provencale. We both loved our dishes. Tout Va Bien is definitely a safe bet if you're in the area and I don't think that you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Inconsistent, but overall good time by all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Make it a point of dining here when staying in the Times Square area. So, I guess that translates to, it's good, but not worth a $20 cab ride to eat here. We had a party of five and each person had some hits and misses this night. The lobster bisque soup special was left unfinished. The trout almondine was dry. Onion soup was good as always and the Coq Au Vin delicious. Service was attentive and they showed much hospitality when they set a huge punch bowl of sangria on the table and let us imbibe.

Classic french food, served in a classic french environment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Surely_U_Jest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
164 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Board of Health "C" Rating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I read quite a few very good reviews on this restaurant so I decided to try it. However, when we arrived we noticed the big fat "C" on the door. After looking around the block we saw much construction going on. Maybe the "C" rating was from the construction stirring up the bugs or mice in the nearby buildings or maybe their kitchen wasn't the cleanest or the food may not have been kept at a certan temperature. Whatever, we refused to go in. We didn't want to take a chance. Too bad! From now on I will call first and ask the NYC restaurant what their rating is. All the cities should do this rating system.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pearlnnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tout Va Bien also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tout Va Bien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing