We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Consistently Great Restaurant”
Review of Estiatorio Milos

Estiatorio Milos
Reserve with OpenTable
Estiatorio Milos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: N,R,W,Q,and F to 57th St. B,D,and E to 7th Ave.
Description: It was in 1980, when Chef-Owner Mr. Costas Spiliadis opened the first Estiatorio Milos on Park Avenue, Montreal.The reason seemed obvious to him: the need to elevate the sophistication of Greek cuisine abroad far away from its stereotyped forklorization. 'I wanted to change what people thought about Greek cuisine,make sure it's being appreciated and awarded with its rightful place on an international level!' As a small restaurant, Milos gained the trust of the Montrealers in no time. The menu being always simple and impeccably fresh, drew the attention of the media and food critics from around the world. NY Post has triumphly started that 'Milos fish could only be fresher if it swam to your plate!' What was the secret that made Milos stand out? Its focus in finding the purest Mediterranean products and cooking with the freshest ingredients.Through 35 years of intensive research, we have managed to build lasting relationships with growers and small-scale fisheries at the shores of Greece, Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, flying in our fish and seafood daily by plane! Milos has since then taken the world by strom and opened in 1997 in NYC, in 2004 in Athens,in 2010 at the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Las Vegas and in 2012 in Miami Beach and in 2015 in London! We invite you to live the Milos experience and celebrate with us our 35th year anniversary!
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Consistently Great Restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have eaten dinner at Milos several times over the last three years, and we have always had a great meal there. The food is outstanding. You have a choice of many varieties of fish, prepared numerous ways. My wife loves fish, so she is in Heaven. I don't properly appreciate fish, but they always have enough alternatives to keep me happy too. The pre-theater, prixe fix menu is a real bargain. The service is professional, but a bit more friendly than what you typically get in a fine NYC restaurant. In short, we love this restaurant!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    317
    102
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should have been Impeccable for the price!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Atmosphere was alive and trendy, but acoustics were poor. My husband made our reservation for 4, well in advance, and yet our table was squeezed in right next to the wait station. I was seated in the chair on the aisle closest to the wait station and my chair was bumped every time a waiter or waitress walked by, with no apology and no effort was made not to bump my chair. Our table should gave been for a maximum of 3 people, not 4. Our waiter was not rude, but arrogant and the service was very slow which I expected and didn't mind because we were catching up friends. The appetizers and veges were excellent, as they should have been, reflective of the price. Our fish was excellent, but served too cold! We shared 2 types of fish with the table and everyone commented on the cool temperature of the fish. I believe our waiter let it wait too long before serving! Food was exceptionally good, but all should have been perfect for a $175.00 per person dinner! One cocktail per person and one bottle of wine, no dessert, no coffee,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C0c0_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Modern luxury tavern”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Milos is a modern luxury tavern combining the mix of fake, kitsch and grandeur so typical some times of US.
Must say the food was exquisite with super fresh fish coming from a sort of 'catch of the day' market at super high price.
Service is very attentive as should be in suche expensive environment. The decor, well, good taste is something else

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere but very pricey.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We ate here in mid-December with friends. The atmosphere is wonderful. The fresh fish is sold by size and on ice. We ordered fresh-Squeezed pomegranate martinis which were excellent but $18 a piece. Said of us shared two bottles of wine. The wine was mid-priced. I ordered lamb chops which were great. My wife and the others all had fish, which was well received. The prices are very high. A Greek salad, nothing special, was $29. That's a lot of money for a Greek salad. Our share, inclusive of tip, was $335 for the two of us. That is certainly high. We really liked the restaurant, which had very good food and a great atmosphere. I just think that $165 per person is a high price, even in New York.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arrowleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, CA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unique, delicious, expensive.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Large white "greek-style" décor with a central seafood-on-ice display where you choose your whole fish personally with the help of one of the head waiters. The fish is then simply prepared on a flat grill. Nothing less than $100/fish but that would be for two people. The side dishes are similarly expensive. However, it was a great dining experience and the waiters were good (not great). Tables are very close together.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hijinx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estiatorio Milos also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Estiatorio Milos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing