We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC”
Review of Estiatorio Milos

Estiatorio Milos
Reserve with OpenTable
Estiatorio Milos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: N,R,W,Q,and F to 57th St. B,D,and E to 7th Ave.
Description: It was in 1980, when Chef-Owner Mr. Costas Spiliadis opened the first Estiatorio Milos on Park Avenue, Montreal.The reason seemed obvious to him: the need to elevate the sophistication of Greek cuisine abroad far away from its stereotyped forklorization. 'I wanted to change what people thought about Greek cuisine,make sure it's being appreciated and awarded with its rightful place on an international level!' As a small restaurant, Milos gained the trust of the Montrealers in no time. The menu being always simple and impeccably fresh, drew the attention of the media and food critics from around the world. NY Post has triumphly started that 'Milos fish could only be fresher if it swam to your plate!' What was the secret that made Milos stand out? Its focus in finding the purest Mediterranean products and cooking with the freshest ingredients.Through 35 years of intensive research, we have managed to build lasting relationships with growers and small-scale fisheries at the shores of Greece, Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, flying in our fish and seafood daily by plane! Milos has since then taken the world by strom and opened in 1997 in NYC, in 2004 in Athens,in 2010 at the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Las Vegas and in 2012 in Miami Beach and in 2015 in London! We invite you to live the Milos experience and celebrate with us our 35th year anniversary!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Cannot say a bad word about this place. The food, service, atmosphere, energy all over the top fantastic. By far one of the best restaurants in NYC. If you want to eat well, have a great night out, this is the place to go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Misssweater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    310
    100
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fish at its very best!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Professional and very attentive, but not intrusive, wait staff. Each course hits you with a wow factor, the freshness and the rich flavor of the sea lets your imagination pretend you're dining on a Mediterranean coast somewhere. Simple and deft preparation on the grill that doesn't require the masking of natural flavors with "haute cuisine", that is so characteristic of the branded names in the NYC circuit. Our new go to place for pre-theatre dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank URNYCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh fish but be prepared to pay”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

They put on a great show in terms of asking you to pick out your actual fish, but it's extremely expensive. The waiters will also take advantage if they smell that it's an expense account meal. Then they will definitely try to sell you all sorts of appetizers, expensive fish, etc.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KManNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends at Milos”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Food was excellent!! Our table ordered as appetizers the Oysters, Milos Special (paper thin zucchinis and eggplants, lightly fried saganaki cheese, and tzaziki), Grilled Shrimp and a Tomato Salad. These were all shared… you can order these items to serve two to four people.

For our Entrée we had the organic salmon and the grilled fish with olive oil and lemon sauce. I couldn’t understand why they wouldn’t wrap the lemon that came as a garnish with the salmon. I’m very picky and I would have preferred them to wrap the lemon in the cotton stretch wraps. Most upscale restaurants all over the world used them to keep seeds out of food and control the lemon from spraying all over the place. We had asparagus and some potatoes as side orders.

For appetizers we had the Baklava…amazing. The Dough fritters with cinnamon and thyme-honey syrup and the Chocolate Mouse that melted in your mouth.

I would sum it up by saying, other than that the lemon not being covered (my little pet peeved) the appetizers, entrées, desserts and beverages were enjoyable and appealing.

Was it an expensive meal? Yes! Don’t worry about the price; you can’t put a price on a great meal!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BIgreds803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Price per pound for all fish entrees???!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a few times in recent years and was very surprised to see all seafood entrees priced by the pound. Of course the weight of the fish is based on total weight before the fish is filleted so the customer is charged at very high rates! I will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodmaven92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estiatorio Milos also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Estiatorio Milos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing