We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs Up For Thalia”
Review of Thalia

Thalia
Reserve with OpenTable
Thalia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #347 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 50th St.
Transit: C, E, 1 (exit on 50th St); N, R (exit on 49th and 7th Ave)
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up For Thalia”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My friends and I visited NYC for a birthday weekend. We went to Thalia for dinner because it is in the heart of the theater district. The ambiance was nice, dimly lit, and had a fun energy to it. We enjoyed the drinks, the entrees, and the desserts. The lobster bisque was um um good (so good I had to give it its own sentence). I reccomend Thalia to anyone visiting the city that wants great service and great food before seeing a show.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoyoforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    379
    91
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice little spot”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were visiting NYC and were looking for a place to eat at one night. Hopped in here because of the oyster special. My brother-in-law said they were really good, I had the calamari which wasnt bad, my sister had the spaghethi which was a little bland. Drinks were a bit pricey. The place was packed at 11pm.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Winner in heart of theater district”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Went to dinner before a show and we were not disappointed. Menu was extensive but everything was superb. One of the best pieces of salmon I've ever had. Decor and atmosphere was fun, lively and hip. Great time!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Take out”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The soups, salads and sandwiches available at Thalia are not to be compared with any run of the mill deli selection. Soups are of homemade quality with a variety not to be found in other local eateries. My favorite is the butternut squash, creamy and delicious. Mixes of greens with cheese and meats to come up a superb pre-made on foccochia. Service in the take-out section is quick and friendly. They also have a frequent diner card and with 10 purchases next one is on Thalia. Can't be beat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Prompt service good food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We dined here on a Sunday afternoon, before seeing a Broadway matinee at 3pm. The restaurant was very busy and the two gals at the hostess station were efficient and friendly. Because we arrived a bit early, we ordered a drink at the bar while waiting for the rest of our party. Again, the bartender was quick, friendly and attentive. Our table was ready a few minutes after our reservation time and we were seated at a table near the window. Our waitress was very friendly, came to our table promptly and explained the specials in detail. I ordered the soup of the day - a roasted squash soup infused with basil. It was delicious and I don't believe it was prepared with any cream, yet it was full of flavor. We also ordered strawberry pancakes, a grilled chicken sandwich (came with crisp fries) and a salmon omelet. The bread basket was replenished with small sweet muffins and the water glasses were kept full. The restaurant was filled with locals as well as day trippers like us, going to see a show. I've eaten here before years ago for dinner - and felt this experience was better because the staff was eager and friendly.

Very close to subway stations, the theater district and a quick walk up 8th Avenue from the Port Authority bus station.

Helpful?
1 Thank cwaNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thalia also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Thalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing