We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for theatre district”
Review of Thalia

Thalia
Reserve with OpenTable
Thalia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #337 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 50th St.
Transit: C, E, 1 (exit on 50th St); N, R (exit on 49th and 7th Ave)
north
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good choice for theatre district”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice decor and interesting menu. If I was in the area I would go again because there were other things I would like to try.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorthSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    382
    92
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Treated ourselves to a pre-theater matinee last Sunday and Thalia was the perfect place. Excellent food (chocolate chip pumpkin muffins were a hit!) and friendly service. Would definitely return for brunch or dinner on next trip to New York.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Twice in a week, Once was excellent the other not-so-much.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I was in NYC for the week and always make my way to Thalia because of their fantastic food and drinks. I arrived later in the day on Monday and got to dinner after 10:00 pm. A lovely bartender greeted me with a friendly, helpful and charming spirit. I enjoyed the oyster special and a two sushi rolls.

Wednesday night after the Rangers game I decided Monday was so nice I would return for another round. Boy was I ever disappointed. I ordered the same thing and got rolls that didn't resemble what I received on Monday. Bartender was rude and couldn't be bothered. I had encountered him on a previous visit and got the same level of service. When I got back to the hotel I could see he charged me for a Grey Goose cocktail instead of the Stoli that I SAW HIM POUR ($4 up charge from Stoli too - how convenient for him). Since I have both owned and tended bars for many years I can honestly say that I have encountered bartenders like him in the past. Too self involved to offer the level of service that I have always enjoyed here. I will make sure on return visits to not sit at the bar. I suggest others do the same when Brian is working.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Artie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The food and service was amazing! Loved the decor too. Well done to the Thalia team. Will definately be back on my next visit to NYC.

Helpful?
Thank ToniaTravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I went here in 2006 not long after it opened and was keen to return with my family. The service and food are still excellent. It was a lovely place for a special night out. We were staying on West 49th St and it was even better being able to stroll around the corner. Good place for people staying in or visiting the Theatre District.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arncliffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thalia also viewed

 

Been to Thalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing