We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find near Theatres”
Review of Angus' Cafe Bistro

Angus' Cafe Bistro
Ranked #3,517 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 8th Avenue and Broadway
Transit: A, C, E, N, Q, R, S, 1, 2, 3 & 7 trains to 42nd Street.
Description: Angus' Cafe Bistro is a one hundred-sixty seat, full-service eatery located in the heart of New York City's bustling Times Square. Given its proximity to several Broadway theaters, the pre-show dinner seating is the restaurant's busiest, but before or after is the time to take advantage of the restaurant's charm for either a relaxing lunch or dinner without the pressure of an impending curtain. Additionally, the restaurant offers several attractive features including a bargain prix fixe lunch menu, an irresistible late night snack menu and the house specialty: a porterhouse steak for two which includes unlimited wine by the glass if you order it after 8pm. Brunch is served all weekend long and private parties/special events of all shapes and sizes are willingly and expertly accommodated.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Find near Theatres”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

All four people in our party loved this restaurant. Very convenient to the Helen Hayes Theatre as well as others. Menu offered many options for different tastes and all the food was delicious. Service good. Wine and beer offerings just what we liked. Definitely would go back. Prices reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    86
    43
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food, informal setting, brilliant location.....”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Situated just 50 metres from Times Square, this restaurant is a cracker. New York prices are high, Times Square prices are higher, but this one was a surprise. Prices were reasonable, for NYC standards, the service was discrete and friendly and the food was excellent. The atmosphere is bar-bistro, not at all stuffy. Highly recommended - go there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giffnockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a very nice meal here. Great fish and chips! Staff were friendly and welcoming. Great for pre/post theatre dinner

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gill63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced for Average Food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food was very average, but extremely overpriced for what you are getting. I ordered a $10 salad that was nothing but lettuce. No tomato, no cheese, not even dressing. Our entrees were the same. The service was slightly slow and generally inattentive. The only upside to this was the location.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren_Nichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, NJ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Was just OK...”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived at 7:30 and most of the diners were waiting for their checks so it took a while before somebody took our order. It took even longer to get our drinks & when we finally did get them mine was made wrong. We had the Porterhouse for two which was very good. The spinach & mac & cheese sides were very good but the twice baked potato could have been better. We had three different waiters which made it a little confusing. We probably won’t go back; the food & service didn’t warrant the prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalJim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angus' Cafe Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Angus' Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing