We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great meal at a Boulud restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of db Bistro Moderne

db Bistro Moderne
Reserve with OpenTable
db Bistro Moderne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #310 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: between 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: Subway 1,2,3,7,A,C,E,N,Q,R,W Stop at 42nd St. Times Square Subway B,D,F,V Stop at 42nd St. & 6th Avenue
Description: Experience the new db bistro moderne! Chef Daniel Boulud's contemporary French bistro has undergone a complete renovation. With the addition of a handsome new cocktail bar, and a newly-crafted menu by Executive Chef Jim Burke in collaboration with Daniel Boulud. db bistro serves updated bistro classics with a modern twist and market-driven French-American cuisine. Located one block East of Times Square, db bistro is the perfect spot for pre- and post-theater dining, a Midtown business lunch or breakfast 'L'Express' of cappuccino and viennoisserie at the bar. A $48 pre-theater prix-fixe dinner menu is available in addition to a full a la care menu. The Lunch Prix Fixe menu will have you back to your desk of off to a matinee quickly and affordably. DB is happy to host large parties and private events from 14-165 guests.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Another great meal at a Boulud restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We always know we'll get great food at a Boulud restaurant, and this was no exception. This was our first time at db Bistro, and we chose it for its proximity to our theater. We ordered from the pre-theater menu, which was small but fine, and everything was great. My char was perfect, and my husband's burger was great, as were the cocktail and wine. We will add this to our DB list of regulars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    417
    156
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We ate here late last night and the restaurant was still in full swing. The meals were delicious and perfectly cooked. I had a lobster salad and Craig had the crab salad for entrees, yum is all I can say. The lobster was the pick there. For mains we had fish - I had the Arctic char and Craig had the cod. Both were delicious. Nice touches were the nibbles with dips - red pepper and olive tapenade, both tasty and delivered to the table when we arrived, also a selection of breads to eat while we waited for our meals to be cooked. The service was excellent. Would like to go back for a return visit while we are here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Titirangichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pre-theatre dinner”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The service and the food were very good. Our server Oscar was excellent. We had the fettuccine and Arctic char. Both dishes were prepared perfectly. This is a restaurant worth a repeat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank USMC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Ask for Adil for great service”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The food was excellent, and we had fantastic service. Adil was so attentive, that he overheard my wishing my daughter "Happy Birthday" and delighted her at the end of our time by decorating the plate of chocolates at the end of the meal with a birthday candle and "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate.
We were struggling to choose among the delicious entrees, and he suggested that we each order something different and the kitchen would be happy to split each entree. A great solution!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindaannie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Failed to live up to the hype.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

After reading many reviews and planning a farewell lunch for a co-worker at this place, I was a bit let down. The service was disinterested and haphazzard. The waiter was hard to locate although he did find time to chat with a friend for long periods of time. The famous burger looked good when it was delivered. I ordered it medium rare and it looked medium rare but it was suffering from severe freezer burn. It was dry and the different meats had no flavor at all. For $32 they can't prepare the burger at the time it's ordered? On the plus side the chilled cream of fennel soup was really good. The fries were among the best I've ever had. The front room is pleasant. My guests shared a dessert that they raved about. So the place still has a lot going for it, but why do they cut corners on something as important as their famous hamburger?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyn-Jared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed db Bistro Moderne also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to db Bistro Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing