We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of DB Bistro Moderne

DB Bistro Moderne
Reserve with OpenTable
DB Bistro Moderne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #297 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: between 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: Subway 1,2,3,7,A,C,E,N,Q,R,W Stop at 42nd St. Times Square Subway B,D,F,V Stop at 42nd St. & 6th Avenue
Description: Experience the new db bistro moderne! Chef Daniel Boulud's contemporary French bistro has undergone a complete renovation. With the addition of a handsome new cocktail bar, and a newly-crafted menu by Executive Chef Jim Burke in collaboration with Daniel Boulud. db bistro serves updated bistro classics with a modern twist and market-driven French-American cuisine. Located one block East of Times Square, db bistro is the perfect spot for pre- and post-theater dining, a Midtown business lunch or breakfast 'L'Express' of cappuccino and viennoisserie at the bar. A $48 pre-theater prix-fixe dinner menu is available in addition to a full a la care menu. The Lunch Prix Fixe menu will have you back to your desk of off to a matinee quickly and affordably. DB is happy to host large parties and private events from 14-165 guests.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The reservation was seamless, the service impeccable. The sound level is not unbearable (a surprise in midtown) and the food alone makes me want to go back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CAD411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    432
    163
    39
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Maine, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food FIVE, Noise ZERO”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

If one measured the decibel level in this excellent restaurant I fear it would rise into the dangerously loud level; so much so that our otherwise excellent waiter misunderstood my order for the salmon tartar as well as that for the duck confit (the first was fixed, for my main course I received Cod that was excellent but I don't like to eat a non-sustainable fish) The sommelier worked with us to find a wine that accompanied both confit and sea bass.
Part of the problem arises because loud "masters of the universe" don't modulate their tones, but this place needs some real sound deadening work! Not bad for customers but I fear for the long term effects on the staff who should not have to work in that environment.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
600 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“not special”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

went for breakfast, French toast was soggy and overly sweet. Had wanted waffle (not on the menu). Sterile environment
with a lot hard metal surfaces. Service was excellent and location is good. Coffee was very European ( strong )

Helpful?
Thank ReddyBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Superb French cuisine in NYC”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ahhh... the design is NY, but the food felt more like quality Auberge in France. I started with picking the cheapest caraf of red wine and it was great ($20 for 1/4 Liter).

The vegetable starter was special and very good. Nice combination of root vegies with goat chees at the bottom ($16).

The raw salmon was just superb. It seems like there is nothing to innovate, but this one is really unique. I ordered it following the staff recommendation. I loved it.

The environment is good. Service is great. They offer at the table great breads and Parmigiano griciny and tiny appetiser. Both great!

This place definitely merits a visit if you are in NYC and like French food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had an over the top meal here. Great lamb, beef, fish, snails, salads. Outstanding wine list. Gracious efficient service. Expensive, but worth it.

We'll be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank StanRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DB Bistro Moderne also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to DB Bistro Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing