We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy but quick dining within the theatre district” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Giovanni

Don Giovanni
Ranked #825 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Right in the center of Hell's Kitchen, this midtown Manhattan location has proudly served its patrons for over 20 years. The vibrant, fast-paced atmosphere of this restaurant matches the bustling activity surrounding it on all sides. Don Giovanni is just steps away from Times Square, the Theater District, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, and Madison Square Garden. The neighborhood is filled with the hottest clubs and lounges, live bands, and Broadway shows. What better way to start your evening or to end a long day of exploring, than with a delicious, no frills Italian meal at our restaurant!
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Noisy but quick dining within the theatre district”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Ate here at 6PM before going to the theatre. Had a very noisy and bustling atmosphere with predictable Italian favorites. Calamari appetizer was over-cooked, but the linguini with many-a-clam sauce was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrushka-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    170
    50
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stopped here on the recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed! My friend and I split a half carafe of sangria - it was delicious and fruity but not too sweet. The half carafe was enough for about 3 small glasses per person. We then split the bruschetta and a small pizza. Both were fantastic. We cleaned our plates and then some. We were able to walk in without a reservation on a Sunday night and had good service, and got a decent sized portions for the price. I would absoloutely go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean and Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice place for a quick nice meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you're looking for a quick nice meal, then that's your place. Service is quick and food is nice.

Tried the Zitti Don Giovanni and it was a good one, the pizza also great. Portions are a big, which is good if you're sharing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AboulEinein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Large Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had lunch here, asked for a small pizza covered large plate, my wife had the spaghetti meatballs, large portion of pasta and meatballs, just able to finish. Pizza fired nicely thin crust so was good.Would go back if back in NYC Restaurant row is great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jellymallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk Mazowiecki, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst "Italian" food ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stepped into this restaurant looking for Italian food - what a mistake. I must say,that as a person from Europe, who has been to Italy several times, I have high expectations towards Italian cuisine. Maybe this is a culutral difference and this type of reastaurant is "American- Italian". But it doesn't change the fact that my mom got food POISONING after dining here.

First of all, service was really poor. Our tables were dirty, waiter put our cutlery in wrong order and left a dirty fork on our table. Not to mention that after apetizers, he put cutlery we used directly on the table (without changing it, or at least putting them on a napkin). Than he FORGOT to bring meat balls to spaghetti with meat balls.

Secondly, the food. Well, I must say if someone can ruin such a simple meal as caprese he can ruin anything. Well, they did it at Giovanni's. Tomatoes at my mom's caprese were diced and mixed with some kind of awful garlic salt. You couldn't even fell the flavor of tomatoes.YUK. Than the main dishes - all of us had pasta. Sauces were completly flaovurless, the same as parmesan cheese, for which I asked to add ANY flavor to these dishes. Portions are really big, none of us finished it (but mostly because of it's completly lack of taste). But the worst part was yet to come, when we finally got meat balls - AWFUL, like food in school cantinas. I can't even say the kind of meat they were made from.

I can't find anything positive in this resaturant. Maybe it can work for people who care only about size of a meal. For others - ABSOLUTELY NO. My mom was sick for next three days.Definetly worst experience with (so called here) Italian food in my entire life.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AgataKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Giovanni also viewed

 

Been to Don Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing