We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New NYC Fave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amarone Ristorante

Amarone Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Amarone Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #457 of 13,489 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Hell's Kitchen, Midtown West, Theatre District, Clinton
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
404 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“New NYC Fave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Went to this place after the show. Easy walk from the theatre district. Delicious, carefully made, Italian food. Salad to start was very fresh- peppery arugula, tomatoes and onions full of flavour, tangy dressing light and complimented salad beautifully. Pasta itself delicious. Sauces simple and not over-powering. Chocolate dessert one of the best I've ever had. Waiters attentive. The owner came to the table many times to make sure we were happy. Congratulations Amarone on a very excellent restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    259
    106
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Food was delicious. Great customer service. Waiters were attentive. Will return on my next trip to NYC.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oris542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Exceptional service, delightful employees, delicious food! Highly recommend! Atmosphere was wonderful. I could not ask for anything more our of a restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was introduced to this restaurant several years ago by NYC "locals." The food is outstanding; I had a pasta dish with eggplant and mozzarella that was out of this world. The friends that I was with enjoyed their meals, also. Be sure and make a reservation, because it is very popular.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewtownSqGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in a caring, comfy atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

5.0 star rating
1/25/2014

We wanted to try a new restaurant after seeing a 2PM Broadway show in the Theater District. With that said, I proceeded to take a fresh look at several places in and around Hell's Kitchen, some of which we knew well and, others not yet visited. Considering the extreme cold, with more snow in the forecast, the restaurant had to be close to 47th St. It should be noted here that a search was performed before leaving for the city using, of course, YELP, for choosing our new restaurant.

Having done this for years and, knowing how to "read between the lines", Amarone, on 9th Avenue, between 47th and 48th St, appeared to be highly rated. Prior to the show, we actually visited Amarone and moved up our 5:30PM reservations to 5PM; their staff was more than happy to accommodate us.

Once we arrived for dinner, we were greeted warmly and an offer made to check our coats. The restaurant is divided into two dining areas with the initial one showcasing a cozy bar. Many tables were seen yet they were not crowded together. Linen table clothes covered each table as well as crystal and silverware, a very nice touch yet not suggesting a stuffy atmosphere. Several tables were already occupied. It was still early for dinner.

We were promptly shown to our table. Our water glasses were immediately filled with true ice-water and fresh bread and butter placed on the table. Note here that the bread consisted of several FULL slices of Italian bread, not mere miniscule morsels. Our server also greeted us and discussed their specials. After a moment, we ordered. My wife had a soup appetizer; muscles with garlic and wine for me with both dishes tasting delicious. Our portions were more than ample. We also ordered glasses of white wine which were brought to our table within two minutes flat.

For our main course, my wife decided on the risotto with mushrooms. For me, pasta with shrimp and scallops in a red sauce. We left nothing in our plates. The flavors of our food were clearly high-end. Tea and espresso were enjoyed following dinner. By the time we had finished our meals, the restaurant was filling up quickly. By 7PM, it was quite full.

Pros: Atmosphere; similar to dining in a private grotto, table setting, Service, Service, a warm, behaved group of diners, an Owner who showed that he cared about his dinner guests. The Owner did stop by to inquire about our dining experience, a true plus.

Cons: None

Future Plans: We will return to Amarone and recommend them highly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoreStops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarone Ristorante also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Amarone Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing