We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marseille

Marseille
Reserve with OpenTable
Marseille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #353 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 44th Street
Transit: A,C,E,B,D,F,N,R to 42nd Street
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bar area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We decided to take a table in the bar area. There were four of us. Bar area is decorated very nicely, reminds one of being in France.

Our food was great, I had fresee salad and the onion soup. Both were delicious. Others at table had entrees which were all devoured. No complaints here! Great wine list. Service was good, and we were never rushed.

The other part of the restaurant is the dining area, which is separated from the bar area by a low panelled wall...it was full and everyone looked quite at home.

I recommend this for a little taste of France!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    373
    120
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely Moules”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This restaurant was just down the street from our hotel, having walked our legs off we went on two occasions for a late lunch . The french onion soup was full of onions and delicious,my husband enjoyed the snails in garlic, the mussels were great ,the wine was lovely and it was a great place to watch the world go buy. The lunch menu and early evening menu were great value.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank champagneannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“When in doubt - in the theatre district...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The decor is gorgeous - food is great. Wonderful atmosphere. Especially love their Mediterranean Salad and Seafood Couscous. Before, after or during theatre - it's always dependable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nycscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

One of the best meals we had in NYC. Great food and atmosphere. Walking distance from our hotel in Times Square.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dearborn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and food delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ended up at this restaurant twice: the first time I couldn't manage dessert, so went back the following night for dessert and a second cocktail.

Cool ambience, liked the low lighting, good choice on menu and superb service. Definitely recommend if you're around Times Sq and hungry. The warm spiced carrot cake is of particular note - dense and comforting and perfectly balanced by the brown sugar ice cream. Mmm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cos8047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marseille also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing