We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and horrible”
Review of Sushi Zen - CLOSED

Sushi Zen
Price range: $12 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
new york , ny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced and horrible”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I went to Sushi Zen recently. The sushi was a complete ripoff. Nothing exciting and terribly overpriced. I also witnessed the owner berating one of the staff. They also brag on their website about a technique that serves the fish to the customer alive. Incredibly inhumane. Do yourself a favor and try one the other Japanese restaurants in New York and save your money

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gunnerny12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    58
    20
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“high end sushi - outstanding place”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have not been to Japan yet but at the Sushi-Zen Sushi-Bar we felt like. The sushi was high end. The choice of sake was excellent. The service was outstanding. The two of us had our own young sushi chef from Tokyo, who entertained us with his wonderful sushi and conversation the whole evening long. He continiously offered us his creations - the ones we ordered we payed the other ones were on the house. In the end we payed 300 $ for two persons including the tipp. We definitely did not regret one single Dollar and we had such a broad choice that I even cannot remember exactly, what we had. We simply dived into this Japanese athmosphere and enjoyed our divine dinner. It was so far our best dining experience in New York and at the same time our best sushi experience (we tried many sushi restaurants arround the US and Europe). We can highly recommend this wonderful restaurant and will come back definitely.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shrimpandgrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambly, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“But expensive ....”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very good sashimi , but at a high price . Service superior and eat at the bar , it is a must . They serve you the sashimi into a bowl of ice , it is very fresh ,,,,
I recommend it , but have space on oyour credit card .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F-Sylvain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful presentation. Delicious tuna tartar, roasted mushrooms, and sushi. Cold sake was also lovely. Good service. They were out of some of the more rare fish though, and it's very expensive. Spcial occasion place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karacolumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi, high priced”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Massive choice. Tables are very small. Food quality was excellent. Service was "fine" but not great. Ambience is pleasant rather than special.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Zen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing