We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”
Review of Molyvos

Molyvos
Reserve with OpenTable
Molyvos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #219 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 55th and 56th Streets
Transit: 7th Avenue (B, D, E Trains) 57th Street (N, R, Q Trains)
Description: Inspired by the traditions and heritage of the Greek islands and mainland, Molyvos has been one of New York's most beloved Greek restaurants since its opening in 1997. Named after the seaside village on the Greek island of Lesvos where the Livanos family roots originate, Molyvos is known throughout Manhattan for its rustic Greek country cooking. Executive Chef Carlos Carreto takes diners on a Grecian culinary journey through a variety of mezedes and appetizers, as well as hyper-local specialty Greek cheese and honey, fresh fish, wild greens and savory pies - all accompanied by the largest all-Greek wine list in the U.S.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stumbled into Molyvos by chance walking along 7th Ave. It's elegant inside but not pretentious. The Greek-style coffee was fantastic. Equally delicious was the mushroom omelet which was served with a light salad of mixed greens tossed in a light, delightful vinaigrette. We also sampled the lamb meatballs as an appetizer. The meatballs were covered in a marinara type sauce which was spectacular. The servers were very attentive to filling water, picking up plates, and catering to our needs. They weren't necessarily warm and fuzzy per se, but they were very professional, pleasant, and courteous. We were given a table next to the open French doors perched just above the heads of pedestrians walking by on 7th Ave. It was fun for people watching and for listening to a street jazz musician. All in all, we were very pleased with the food, atmosphere, and service. I wished I could have visited again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4FunAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    283
    82
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek Food”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very popular place for the pre-theatre crowd. Very extensive menu and wine list. Recommend octupus appetizer and sardines. Can't go wrong with any of the whole fish entrees. Better Greek food than I had in Athens. Service is friendly an attentive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely atmosphere, downhill from there...”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

On a recent visit to NYC, we looked forward to a return visit to Molyvos as it had been a favourite spot on a previous trip. We had friendly service, and enjoyed our meals, chosen from an extensive menu. After returning to our hotel (several blocks away) we realized that we had been given another patron's credit card. We immediately tried to phone the restaurant but the phones were down! So, we walked back. We told the manager that we were not upset, as he proceeded to take a strip out of the server in front of us. As he and the hostess frantically tried to find contact information for the other patron, it was discovered that not only had we been given her card, but we had also paid for her bill along with our own! (She signed a receipt with our name and number on it.) The manager apologized and credited the amount of HER lunch from our card.

As they were not able to track her down immediately we gave them our cell number to contact us if she returned a message left at her office. We then returned to our hotel and cancelled the credit card. All in all this took up a good part of our afternoon which, of course we had thought we'd have to enjoy some other things in Manhattan.

For our inconvenience, the manager offered to "buy us a drink" in order to make it right.

The following day, we got a phone call from the restaurant saying that because we had cancelled the card, that our bill had not gone through, and asking us come back and pay for our lunch!!

Incredulous, but because he is the type of person he is, my husband walked over there again and paid the bill, removing the 22 percent tip. The manager offered him a drink. (He declined…..)

Mistakes are made, and we understand that. What the server did was frustrating and wasted a lot of our time. (We will ALWAYS make sure that we have our own card when we leave a restaurant - a lesson learned.) However, the way the management chose to handle the situation, especially after we were charged for someone else's meal along with our own, is what drove me to write this review.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fetafiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely lunch at Molyvos. We enjoyed an appetizer of spinach pie. They also served delicious bread and olives in oil. Our lunch was leg of lamb wraps and our friend enjoyed a octopus salad which was equally delicious. Then all enjoyed dessert of coffee brulee and an apple pie type of dessert. They served up a great selection of beer and delicious sangria. Very good lunch pick.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very good Greek food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Good selection of entrees and appetizers of very good quality Greek food.
Also a very good bottle of wine at a reasonable price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TJC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molyvos also viewed

 

Been to Molyvos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing