We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible seafood”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of FireBird Russian Restaurant - CLOSED

FireBird Russian Restaurant
Price range: $21 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 8th and 9th Avenue
Transit: 1,2,3,7,A,C,E,N,R,Q,W,S to 42nd Street Time Square Station
Description: Firebird, Opulent decor, "Regal" service, and "Divine" Vodkas that may inspire you to shout, "Bring back the Tsar" (Zagat). If you only dine once in Manhattan, dine like a Tsar. Lunch from 11:45am - 2:30 pm Lunch Pre-Fixe $21 and $44.95 Dinner Pre-Fixe available everyday from 5pm - 7pm.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
233 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Terrible seafood”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Came here for the groupon deal for the seafood tower. Just like the other reviewer said, it's not a tower. It's just a plate put on a wire frame. You do get enough pieces BUT the food SUCK!!! The only thing that was relatively fresh was the lobster itself. That's probably only because lobsters have to be transported fresh. The shrimp was soggy, the crab meat was soggy, the claws were really mushy and tasted like it was frozen, thawed, and re-frozen. Just TERRIBLE. I would not recommend coming here to eat their seafood. We also tried their wagyu tar tar and that was terrible. The meat was chewy and the spicy cabbage was quite sour, that it overpowered the meat flavor which absolutely ruined the dish. The spiciness was too much too!!

This was my first time where I actually had to get food afterwards because I wasn't full nor satisfied.

Only thing that was good about the restaurant was the decor.
The service was mediocre. It seemed like they didn't have enough workers and I could tel that there were some other patrons that were getting annoyed with the wait time.

Do not come here!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mystiqz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    47
    24
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE & Wouldn't honor our not expired Groupon”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is a total joke. My mother bought a Groupon which offered a seafood tower for 2, plus drinks for $45. When we got there, they said they no longer offer the seafood tower, but they'll "let" us apply the $45 we already spent towards food. Wow-what a deal. They're letting us apply exactly what we already spent to get the Groupon towards their menu. Hmmm, no deal there. When we asked if it can be applied towards a higher priced item on the menu (which is the whole point of a groupon - well, that AND trying to win the customer over so they want to actually come back to the restaurant), they said NO. But they said we can still order off the prix-fix which ended 10 mins ago because we spent so much time arguing about their scam. By the way-the way groupon works is that a company does a 50%-50% with Groupon, so they already got paid 50% of our $45 whether we used the groupon or not. So not only did they already make $22.50 on us, they didn't offer what they promised in the groupon of the drinks and seafood tower, and stillage us pay the $45 towards the bill. And then when they said they would give us each a drink, because we ordered a bottle of wine, they wouldn't take off even half. Mind you, it was only a $40 bottle of róse. Not like we ordered a rare expensive bottle.
And, we were only one of three tables dining there all night. You'd think they'd try a little harder winning over customers since clearly no one wants to eat there!!! I'll stick to DBGB, Balthazar, Aqua Grill and my other favorite restaurants that offer impeccable service and food. And trust me, the cost doesn't bother me, it's untrustworthy people and restaurants that do. Last time we buy a groupon for a restaurant since not all their clients have credibility.

Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Offhand Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

First to the good parts. The restaurant is attractive in a formal sort of way. China displayed in glass cases, old looking pictures on the walls, appropriate lighting - all the things that give the right ambience to a fairly formal dining experience. The food is okay - not outstanding but good enough - and the honey vodka is superb. I gave 3 stars instead of 2 mainly based on how good that darned honey vodka is.

The bad part is the service. While the service is reasonably attentive - no worse than lots of other NYC restaurants - the waiters come pretty close to outright rudeness. So close that they actually are rude a lot of the time. They appear not to understand orders which seems like a front. They just can't be bothered trying to understand or pretend not to. And they bring whatever they feel like. For example, 2 people in our party asked for no toast with a particular dish, requests that were ignored. One person asked for rye bread and was told "no". No rye bread in a Russian restaurant? Don't be absurd! The staff gave every appearance of being bored, unresponsive and possibly downright ornery. Service was already included when the bill came - but where was the service that was billed? Don't bother going here if you expect to be treated like a valued guest or even to get service beyond basic tolerance. Not good enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Change from Asian, Italian, or Steakhouses...Firebird”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The restaurant, which is located on Restaurant Row would be perfect for a pre theater dining experience. The formal, vintage Russian decor and the efficient service along with a few selection of Eastern European dishes add the the ambiance. Background music, however, was quietly featuring Duke Ellington which we welcomed. The chicken keiv was very good. The dinner rolls, however, were the stalest I've ever had. As a change steak houses, Asian, or Italian you may want to try Firebird.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
“groupon to Firebird Restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I bought a groupon to Firebird Restaurant for a $45 for Two ($110 Value) to my friends
They go on 4/27/13; on sitting down the waitress informed them that terms and conditions of Groupon does not work, It was clear they don't value customers that buy coupon deals that THEY offer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vella0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FireBird Russian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing