We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not a "must-return"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Remi

Remi
Reserve with OpenTable
Remi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #306 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Avenues
Transit: B, E, C; N, R
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not a "must-return"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pricey choice for early dinner before theater - but it was not crowded before 6, so it quiet and service was very good. Chestnut mushroom soup was excellent. Salad was fresh, well seasoned, and generous. A variety of breads brought to the table. Glass of house wine, a merlot, was ok. Main course of seared tuna was not among the best we have had. Dessert choice of warm ricotta cake was very good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank David451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    167
    48
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We ate early before attending a Broadway show. We were served a delicious basket of different breads with a scrumptious tomato and Ricotta sauce. Excellent choice of wines by the glass. The ambience was ok. Tables were close in proximity and at times you could hear other patron's conversations. Food was excellent! Perfect entree serving size.
We were served promptly and the staff was attentive and courteous. I can say that the Remi was our favorite restaurant during our 3 day stay.
We would return in a New York minute!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel10100807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great meal during Restaurant week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here during a restaurant week, and selected from a price fixed menu. Selections were very good and mirrored the regular menu. We had wild mushrooms on polenta for an appetizer, together with a salad. My wife had liver, and I had seared salmon. Everything was prepared excellently. Deserts were yummy. The restaurant was very busy, with several groups from a convention at the Sheraton across the street. This made the restaurant somewhat noisy. It also tied up the staff somewhat, but we had time and the wait staff was very solicitous. Overall we enjoyed the meal very much.

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Level Contributor
495 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Beautiful Italian Restaurant with Great Food!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a business dinner that followed a business meeting at the same place.
The atmosphere is great and quiet enough for any sort of meeting.
For the business meeting we were served various breads and goat cheese dips which were superb.
The selection of Single Malts (I know this is not very Italian, so what?) was very nice.
For dinner starters we took the polenta with mixed wild mushrooms and the grilled calamari salad. Both were excellent and very generously served (We did some sharing.....).
For the main course we took excellent ravioli and a "special" which was risotto with small chunks of filet mignon Both were exquisite.
The homemade mango sorbet was great.
The location is great for theater dinners.
Regardless of your excuse, be it theater, business, romance, be sure to pay a visit to this first class restaurant!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Italian cuisine in Midtown/Theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

First time here. Excellent choice for Italian cuisine before or after Broadway plays, especially Jersey Boys. Short walk from several theaters and major hotels. Started with a wonderful basket of 3 different breads with tomato sauce with ricotta for dipping. Very nice wine list and most are available by the glass. Great selection of appetizers, entrees, and desserts. Food was very good to excellent. Perfect entree portion size if you want an appetizer and dessert too. Contemporary italian decor, relatively moderate noise level, and friendly & pleasant staff. Courses served promptly but we never felt rushed. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BearingMan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Remi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Remi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing