We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formal and elegant yet very friendly.”
Review of La Grenouille

La Grenouille
Reserve with OpenTable
La Grenouille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Fifth and Madison Avenues
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Formal and elegant yet very friendly.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Food was excellent! Best duck I ever had. Didn't think they could make clams special, but the sauce on the baked clams was one of the hits of the meal. Souffles were very rich so I can't imagine getting a "medium"; a small was more than enough!

The room sets the mood. Elegant and regal but the fresh flowers prevent it from being cold and impersonal. Service is attentive and friendly, but not intrusive. The owner, Charles Masson, strolls from table to table making everyone feel like they are special. One of the few places were you can dress up as much as you like and not feel out of place or overdressed.

Congratulations Monsieur Masson! You have preserved a real gem for all of us to enjoy!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jsanta59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    126
    50
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't need to speak French.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were looking for a place for lunch and just walked into La Grenouille and had the best lunch ever and you don't have to speak French. Men do need to have a jacket, but they are more than happy to give you one, we did feel a little awkward when we first entered because we were dressed very casual but the staff makes you feel welcomed. I don't speak or read French but they explained all the dishes. The restaurant is so beautiful with flowers everywhere, so elegant and we don't normally like French food but we loved what we had and the prices were reasonable. The service was phenomenal and when we left they all thanked us for coming. We will definitely go back for dinner next time but will be dressed for it, very special place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi and P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hope you can speak french - pretentious!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

On a cold, snowy, dark, night after a long day at work, we entered this beautiful location.
We were ushered upstairs, as we were unaware that it is truly a jacket and tie restaurant. Jackets are provided if you do not have one.
I consider this to be a pretentious restaurant, as when you arrive and are seated, you are spoken to in French Which is initially fine. But if I were the staff, when you reply in English, my manners would tell me to speak English and not french. But guess what, they continue to speak French (and I am not talking about the menu). I have travelled the world (and France on numerous occasions) and have never felt so uncomfortable and unwelcome. Guess what - we will not be back.
Of the many restaurants that I have had the pleasure to enjoy, this is one of a few that are in a "class of their own", to be polite. We chose to leave, with apologies, before partaking of their delights.
To those that enjoy this old world (and soon to be extinct) service, may I say "pouvez-vous le plaisir de votre expérience culinaire".

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank travelalotEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“NYC Winter Lunch”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Saturday lunch, our fav. Beautiful space. Lunch is a bargain compared to similar restaurants for dinner. Be sure to request in advance roast chicken for two instead of chicken paillards. And try a red burgundy with the chicken. Doesn't get any better. Soufflés any one? A supplement but well worth it. The chocolate soufflés is to die for. In the heart of midtown, eat, drink and take a long walk on fifth avenue. What an afternoon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suds R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Most elegant restaurant in NYC!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have dined here for many years and are always amazed at the high level of service, food & ambiance. The Charles Mason and staff [especially Armel & Jean Pierre] are always professional and friendly, the food continues to be outstanding and the room is the loveliest in NYC, If not the USA! We have not had lunch here in a while, usually go for dinner, but it was a fantastic way to spend a freezing cold Saturday afternoon! Anyone who truly loves fine dining in the more formal sense, should certainly go to La Grenouille for either lunch or dinner! Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMmetroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grenouille also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Grenouille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing