We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Elegance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Grenouille

La Grenouille
Reserve with OpenTable
La Grenouille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Fifth and Madison Avenues
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classic Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Exceptional, very personal service and delightful French cuisine in one of the most elegant rooms in New York. .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmbassadeurPrincipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    118
    46
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains
Level Contributor
254 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We ate a pre theater dinner which was divine! The setting has not changed in the many years since I fist was brought here for my first promotion many years ago; elegant and opulent....the servers are attentive and happy to offer suggestions....the food presentation is first rate but the BEST part was the preparation of the food which was perfect.....from the amuse bouche to the candied nuts served with the espresso. If on a budget go with the early bird prefixe with wine pairing....you cannot miss!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IMB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Top Notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

One of my favorite in town, and one of the best meal of the year! High-end French classics in a wonderful interior! i.e. La Grenouille is the kind of restaurant I would definitely suggest to anyone eager to discover proper French cuisine. Highly recommended! HJC

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Where is the food?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

My son treats us once a year to a very upscale restaurant. ,This year it was to Grenouille. The title of this review tells only part of the story. The portions are suitable for dainty ladies out for
lunch at a Schraffts. We arrived at the early sitting of 5:15 as they said they had no room at the later sittings (which was a lie....there were many empty tables at 7:00 -8:00)

The prix fixe menu (the only one that they showed) was $104.00 per person for appetizer, entrée, and dessert. The selections were limited, and while the portions were not miniscule, they were inappropriate for adult males or hungry females. My appetizer (a tasty chestnut soup) only filled half of the plate
My entrée, a sirloin steak with leeks did not taste like prime meat, ......the other entrees, while
different from most "regular" restaurants were similarly short on size.

Too many items had supplemental charges..this on top of the $104 basic price.

a real disappointment!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank weluvscale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Never have I seen such spectacular flowers in a restaurant. The food was memorable and the service most gracious. The location just off 5th Ave. makes this a greet place for lunch while shopping.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kendall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grenouille also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Grenouille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing